Help me out of this slump!

Discussion in 'General SPS Discussion' started by Acro maniac, Sep 30, 2017.

  1. rockstarta78

    rockstarta78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    215
    Location:
    VA
    I can't backup my statement, but I am tempted to say I'd acid wash or bleach your rock if I could. But then again, what if that doesn't fix it! I guess at this point your only option is to go through process of elimination.
     

  2. Acro maniac

    Acro maniac Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    198
    I switched skimmers last year and tunze ato, new gyres.
    Only thing not changed is a danner return pump and the chiller. If either of those are the problem I would think it would show on the triton (metals)
    Other then that nothings in the water
     
  3. tripdad

    tripdad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    521
    Location:
    Chicago suburbs
    Sorry to hear about all your troubles, it gets really hard to be in this hobby sometimes. When faced with a situation like yours I would determine everything that is different between frag tank and display. It's normal to make assumptions based on experience but don't, remove, inspect every piece that is not the same as your frag tank, carefully. With everything you have done, been thru it has to be something that is NOT the same as your frag tank, only thing that makes sense. Again, if any doubts or as a double check, swap the piece of equipment from your display to your frag tank and vice versa. If the problem moves, bingo! You found it. Good luck. P.S. Some very toxic metals may not be part of a Triton test but be in these new super magnets.
     
    Acro maniac likes this.
  4. 2Wheelsonly

    2Wheelsonly Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    457
    Location:
    Floyds Knobs, IN
    Did I miss if you took GFO offline? I read that you were using it.

    Have you tried the KISS approach? Just get rid of the GFO and any other dosing and let your nutrients shoot up a bit? Rule out the coral starvation part, those monti's looked like mine did when starved.

    What lights are you using again?
     
  5. Acro maniac

    Acro maniac Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    198
    Ill get a new return pump, itz 8 or 10 years old. (As old as the system) but other than that. I have been thinking about cutting all my corals of the rocks and tosing the rock.
     
  6. Acro maniac

    Acro maniac Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    198
    Gfo has only been running for the time i have been cleaning up the tank.(blowing detritus out of the rocks) nutrients were alittle high, thats what triggered me to clean up and run some gfo. That picture of the montis was the first indicator something was off. I dont have a recent pic but ill take one tonight.
    I have only ever run a sump and skimmer , dose 2part thats it.
    Heres a pic of a A.valida that I have been watching die slowly 20171207_190336.jpg
    Here is a top down of the same coral at the first signs it wasnt happy. In the pic you can see the tips burnt but also see the base receding. Screenshot_20171208-055725.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017 at 6:03 AM
  7. BigJim

    BigJim Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    Baltimore
    How are you adding water back to the tank during a water change? Is it possible a pump you are using to return water to the system is leaking voltage or leaching metal and causing an issue? You may also want to look at where you are mixing the new saltwater. Could you be using a pump that is leaching something to mix your saltwater. Could the container be leaching something?
     
  8. Acro maniac

    Acro maniac Well-Known Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    198
    I mix about 30 gal at a time in a brute can the water gets split up between 2 systems. I never leave it in the mixing container for more than 12 hours. And its all gravity feed and hand mixed
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...