• For a Limited Time the R2R Partner Membership is NOW OPEN! Get some cool swag and chances to win part of over $20,000 in prizes! Click here for more details

Help! My town lost power! I have a generator but no Internet!

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
702
Reaction score
555
Location
Danbury Ct
Help! My town lost power! I have a generator but no Internet!

I am unable to connect to Apex to dial down some of my settings to conserve some power while I am off the grid. Also since I cannot connect to Apex fusion, how do I enter feed mode?

Is there a way to access my controller via an IP address? If so how.
 

TheHarold

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
4,745
Reaction score
8,005
I have tried Apex.Local But for some reason it’s not connecting do I need to enter an IP address
You still need to be connected to the same wifi network as the apex to use this- your router needs to have power, regardless of whether there is internet.

Did you change the name of your apex, to anything other than "apex"? If so, need to use that instead. For example, I use "Reefer350.local"
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
2,563
Reaction score
5,909
Location
Oregon
If you know the Apex IP address, you can browse to it directly. For example: http://192.168.1.20

Note: The local username & password is not the same as your Fusion account. If you never set it, the default is:
User = admin
Pass = 1234

If you don't know the IP address, you may be able to find it if you can log into your router to look at its list of connected devices or the DHCP client list.

Once you're logged in to the local Apex dashboard, you'll be able to control devices and initiate Feed modes. Note that your local dashboard may not show all the same outputs you're used to seeing on Fusion. If items are missing, click the padlock icon to reveal the unused tiles at the top, scroll through them, and drag the ones you need onto the dashboard. Click the padlock again when done.
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting
OP
Erick Armanii

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
702
Reaction score
555
Location
Danbury Ct
Is it possible to tether to your cell phone or an iPad with cellular data? Not sure if apex allows that...
Great suggestion but where I live the service is non existent but if possible I think a cellphone hotspot would do the trick
 
OP
Erick Armanii

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
702
Reaction score
555
Location
Danbury Ct
If you know the Apex IP address, you can browse to it directly. For example: http://192.168.1.20

Note: The local username & password is not the same as your Fusion account. If you never set it, the default is:
User = admin
Pass = 1234

If you don't know the IP address, you may be able to find it if you can log into your router to look at its list of connected devices or the DHCP client list.

Once you're logged in to the local Apex dashboard, you'll be able to control devices and initiate Feed modes. Note that your local dashboard may not show all the same outputs you're used to seeing on Fusion. If items are missing, click the padlock icon to reveal the unused tiles at the top, scroll through them, and drag the ones you need onto the dashboard. Click the padlock again when done.
I’m not that tech savvy to figure that out but I did find an older iPad that I used a long time ago that I had apex local logged in.. I spent like 30 mins searching for it... powering it up.. and after finally logging into it the iPad started going crazy with notifications............ WiFi was back on lol.. all that effort for nothing!

it’s been 3 days with no internet and without feed mode most of the food would just get sucked in the overflows..

lesson learned
 
Top Shelf Aquatics
OP
Erick Armanii

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
702
Reaction score
555
Location
Danbury Ct
If you need to turn of the pumps for feeding wouldn’t it work to just....disconnect them haha?
Yes I guess I could manually disconnect the return pump, gyres and skimmer.

I remember when I first set up my apex I needed to log into the IP address of the unit.. (apex.local) and I couldn’t remember how that was done.

log story short the internet came back online last night
 

robbyg

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
1,781
Reaction score
2,065
Just a suggestion: Now that your up and running get the local IP for your Apex and log onto it and then bookmark the IP and logon info so that in the future you don't run into this problem.
 
OP
Erick Armanii

Erick Armanii

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 31, 2017
Messages
702
Reaction score
555
Location
Danbury Ct
Just a suggestion: Now that your up and running get the local IP for your Apex and log onto it and then bookmark the IP and logon info so that in the future you don't run into this problem.
That’s a good suggestion.. where can I find that?
 

mike550

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 13, 2019
Messages
1,010
Reaction score
1,405
Location
Chicago
@Erick Armanii can you confirm that your Apex is connected to your WiFi?

As far as looking for an IP address for your controller if you’re running a Windows machine type ipconfig in a command prompt window. That should list all devices by IP address. Another way is to log in to your router. There should be a way to see what is on your network.
 

robbyg

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
1,781
Reaction score
2,065
You could use the Router info but do you know the password for the routers Admin account?

The simplest way is to login into Apex Fusion then go to "Expand" that is the Gear looking Icon near the top list. Once you click expand several new Icons will come up. One of them looks like a Speaker and is named "Network". Click on Network and you will see your Network summary. In that List is your IP address for Apex Local. It's just above "NetMask".

Write that down and logout of fusion then type in the IP in your address bar of your browser and that should take you into the Local version. You will need the Username and Password you used during setup. If not try the default of "admin" and "1234". Once you get in bookmark the page.
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

Do you have any "bully fish" in your tank?

  • YES (tell us in the thread)

    Votes: 126 58.9%
  • NO bullies just misunderstood...

    Votes: 72 33.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 16 7.5%

Online statistics

Members online
2,480
Guests online
5,171
Total visitors
7,651
CWT Aquatics - Acrylic Sumps, Tanks, and More!
Top