Help, stalled cycle

kateJD

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know there’s a thousand similar posts, so forgive me if I think my problem is a little different. I’m new at this and I appreciate all advice. I think I have a stalled cycle and I’m feeling a little stuck about next steps. Here is a timeline:
8/3: set up tank (Red Sea max E260 all in one); live sand, manufactured/dry rock cycled in LFS tank; started Red Sea reef mature mostly fishless cycle system (followed directions exactly)

on day 10, I was supposed to have 0 ammonia and 0 nitrites and was directed to add CUC. I had 0.2ppm ammonia and 0.5 ppm nitrites (and like 20 ppm nitrates) so I waited

day 14 ammonia and nitrites down to zero; but not much algae growth, directed to add algae eating fish (3) by instructions, instead I added 2 clownfish because I had no algae growing in tank

day 20 (8/23) added a small CUC (cleaner shrimp and a few (10) mixed snails);

day 30 (9/2) ammonia “spiked” to 0.4 ppm (total, Red Sea test kit) nitrite up to 4ppm (also Red Sea) so I started monitoring ammonia daily. I added some marine pure gems and Fritz turbo start to re-invigorate my bacteria and all that seemed to do was make the tank smell like farts for a couple of hours ()

since 9/2 nitrite has come down to 1.0 ppm and ammonia is hovering between 0.1-0.2 ppm. Only other livestock I’ve added is pulsing Xenia and gsp.

Now I have this horrible brown (I think) diatom stuff that gets better when I turn down the lights but the water gets cloudy and gross when I turn off the lights for a couple of days and the ammonia actually creeps up a bit (I’m guessing from die off of the diatoms?).

While my ammonia and nitrite are better some days than others they’ve never got back down to zero. I’m not 100% sure if one of the snails died in the rockwork somewhere or if something else happened?