Hi there! EU folk here. Long time lurker, 1st post!

Fish Think Pink

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone!
I'm Konrad from EU (I move often country for work, now in Germany). I have been lurking in this forum posts for a while, I almost red few hundreds in 2 weeks!
I am new in marine/reef aquariums but I have been for long time into freshwater systems for both hobby and work (I am a PhD fellow in Ecology and genetics). Also a lot of terraristic (almost every animal group). I started 2 weeks ago sorting things out for the new tank (Fluval Flex 123 32.5 for freshwater, I will convert it marine slowly).
ATM I am aiming toward something a bit "unusual" I suppose. I will expain things better in a build thread but in general I would like to increase biodiversity as much as possible with uncured LR from "safe" sources without caring much about pests, and introducing living plankton and CUC. Then I will slowly introduce corals and some bigger stuff once the system is stable and I detected nasties (if present). Also I would like to try without skimmer if water parameters are stable ( I don't have a proper sump, just the filter chamber included in the Flex)
I am also planning to play around with arduino and maybe reef-pi, but next year. I realized in the hard way that this hobby is more expensive than you expect when you start and because of this I will try to implement some DIY stuff when it's possible.
Concerning the tank concept I was thinking about an aquascape with reef on left side, sand in the middle and some macros, gorgonians and rocks on the right side.