High Ammonia recovery??

TSM Aquatics

Jaybeastin

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2021
Messages
322
Reaction score
190
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
94203
Came home from work and I noticed my orange back fairy wrasse was on top of the water column grasping for air.

I did a ammonia test and it read .50!

It was was currently in my 10g quarantine tank with a anthias.

I panicked and I tossed him in my DT sump. Risking my other fish but I didn’t want to lose it :/

I did a water change and got the ammonia down and my anthias is completely fine.

my wrasse still look in bad shape , will it make it ? Now that the ammonia is down ? Still in my DT sump and my ammonia reads zero
 

i cant think

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Messages
8,785
Reaction score
9,437
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
England
Came home from work and I noticed my orange back fairy wrasse was on top of the water column grasping for air.

I did a ammonia test and it read .50!

It was was currently in my 10g quarantine tank with a anthias.

I panicked and I tossed him in my DT sump. Risking my other fish but I didn’t want to lose it :/

I did a water change and got the ammonia down and my anthias is completely fine.

my wrasse still look in bad shape , will it make it ? Now that the ammonia is down ? Still in my DT sump and my ammonia reads zero
Most likely the wrasse won’t and it has already suffered ammonia burns. It’ll most likely be a matter of time before you lose it unfortunately…
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock
OP
J

Jaybeastin

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2021
Messages
322
Reaction score
190
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
94203
I’ve only dealt with ammonia once and unfortunately I lost all 23 of my fish…

Maybe @Jay Hemdal could help with your situation though?
It’s still alive! Still breathing a bit heavy but I think it’s going to make it! If it survive overnight I should be good.
 
Never Wash Another Nasty Filter Sock Again!

i cant think

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 1, 2021
Messages
8,785
Reaction score
9,437
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
England
Spoke too soon. Died an hour I posted :/
Oh man, it’s such a shame to have that however you can always learn from it now :)

Whenever I have a fish die I will always learn from it and try see how to avoid it next time (Obviously this isn’t always the case - for example if a fish dies of old age).
 
OP
J

Jaybeastin

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2021
Messages
322
Reaction score
190
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
94203
Oh man, it’s such a shame to have that however you can always learn from it now :)

Whenever I have a fish die I will always learn from it and try see how to avoid it next time (Obviously this isn’t always the case - for example if a fish dies of old age).
Yeah the cause was because my quarantine tank was too small. Never had a fish die from ammonia until now. Had a flame hawk die a few weeks ago for no apparent reason too. Was extremely healthy and active and I seen it dead for some reason in my DT
 

Uncle99

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Messages
5,852
Reaction score
7,538
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Province of Ontario
Yeah the cause was because my quarantine tank was too small. Never had a fish die from ammonia until now. Had a flame hawk die a few weeks ago for no apparent reason too. Was extremely healthy and active and I seen it dead for some reason in my DT
Sorry for your loss. I would agree maybe to small. I would think in addition, they died because the QT was not cycled, the load was to high, or something big died, or any combination of those three.

Same rules apply for QT as DT.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture
OP
J

Jaybeastin

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 10, 2021
Messages
322
Reaction score
190
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
94203
Sorry for your loss. I would agree maybe to small. I would think in addition, they died because the QT was not cycled, the load was to high, or something big died, or any combination of those three.

Same rules apply for QT as DT.
You’re probably right . Probably wasn’t cycled. I used media from DT and I thought that would’ve been enough. Guess not
 
TSM Aquatics

Is there such a thing as an "easy" acro?

  • YES (tell us about it in the thread)

    Votes: 83 44.4%
  • NO

    Votes: 43 23.0%
  • Not sure

    Votes: 59 31.6%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 2 1.1%
Top