High nitrite during cycle, should I do a water change?

ReeferPolly

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All Reef pros!

been cycling for 14 days with Dr Tim’s fishless process.

tank is a waterbox 100.3 (270L)
Real rock
Live sand
my skimmer and clarisea was turned off for the first 48hrs

Running at
19 salinity
28c water temp
No lights
PH is around 7.6-7.8

My Amonia went up to 3.0ppm and came down (Amonia and nitrite results attached)

My concern is the nitrite went up to a steady 5.0ppm and has stayed there, my API test kit can’t read higher so don’t know if it is any higher.

On the dr Tim’s website it says to do a 30-50% water change if nitrite levels are too high but is ambiguous.

please let me know your thoughts? I’m a newbie. Happy to be patient but want to make sure I’m doing the right thing...

Thank you in advanced!

5B50D6ED-DC82-4C8F-B1E5-543A01327DF5.jpeg

CBC4C7A6-0B72-4708-A681-F1A7318EFC41.jpeg

SchrutesReefs

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I honestly don’t think a water change will do much change. I recently cycled my tank the same way along with Dr Tims ammonia. My nitrites stayed high from day 7/8- day 21. I think as long as ammonia drops in about a day you should be ok. I think the water change is for when BOTH nitrite and ammonia are at 5ppm or higher.

OP
OP
ReeferPolly

ReeferPolly

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I honestly don’t think a water change will do much change. I recently cycled my tank the same way along with Dr Tims ammonia. My nitrites stayed high from day 7/8- day 21. I think as long as ammonia drops in about a day you should be ok. I think the water change is for when BOTH nitrite and ammonia are at 5ppm or higher.
Thanks, That’s what I thought but Dr Tim said in the YouTube that if either it high to do a water change. I’m thinking of waiting a few more days at this stage.

SchrutesReefs

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0