HOB filter on 50g

*LouiseC*

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ive got a 4ft 50g tank (AquaOne Horizon 182)
I want to convert it to a saltwater tank. Main reason is its the feature in our loungeroom. Its sits on a low tv cabinet with drawers so no room for a sump etc so was hoping this might work with some minor modifications.

Im wanting to do a FOWLR tank with only a few fish
1 x Ocellaris Clownfish
1 x Royal Gramma
1 x Firefish
1 x Watchman Goby

Id also like a skunk cleaner shrimp and a basic CUC.

Ive only got the HOB it came with which isn't very good so can upgrade that.

Is this possible with frequent water changes etc

Im new to saltwater so about to start watching 52 weeks of reefing on youtube but would love an advice on this please ☺ im a long way off even starting it but trying to get as much info as possible

AdamNC

Lawnmower Blenny says nom nom
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I ran a 29 gallon sps reef with only hob equipment for 4 years, so it is entirely possible to not have a sump. I used and Aquaclear 70 and an AquaC Remora hob skimmer. Weekly water changes of 10% and auto dosing.

8AB1DB9B-04EE-4FA1-86AD-C6F6E8AE8242.jpeg
80499CC2-DC5E-4E85-98AD-91B8DAED0BF4.jpeg

Rispa

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My 55g has two hob rated for 70g each. I also use algae, live rock, and live sand though.

OP
OP
L

*LouiseC*

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
AdamNC your tank is gorgeous!!!!
Great to hear it can be done. Will look into a hob skimmer too. Will also upgrade my filter as its not enough for this tank with the longer length. I ended up running a second sponge filter mainly for surface agitation up the other end. Will have live samd and live rock. No corals etc at this stage but maybe down the track? Maybe...

Thank you both ☺

OP
OP
L

*LouiseC*

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0