How do I connect my MP 40 to Mobius to control it?

CyberGuy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
298
Reaction score
189
Location
San Diego, CA
I have an MP 40 that I bought in November 2018. It is wireless quiet drive.

I do not have reef link.

I just downloaded Mobius, installed it, ran it, but it could not find my MP 40. After I named my tank and click next, it then tries to locate devices but it could not find any.

What am I doing wrong?
 

Mhart032

Stick Head
View Badges
Joined
Jun 16, 2018
Messages
983
Reaction score
3,576
Location
San Antonio TX
It might not be mobius compatible, you might have to swap the wifi chip with the new chip. From what ive been told everything manufactured from 2018 on is supposed to be compatible. Now that being said my 2019 radion G4s were not without chip upgrades, either were my mp10s QD upgraded in 2018.
 
OP
C

CyberGuy

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
298
Reaction score
189
Location
San Diego, CA
So I guess I have to wait for the final Mobius version to come out to see if my MP 40 that I bought in November 2018 will work with Mobius.
 

twiatr2001

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 22, 2019
Messages
292
Reaction score
203
so I have five brand new xr 30g4 pros Aug. 19 date code and the one that I have opened has a black chip and it will not connect to mobius.
 

Oz_Puffy

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 11, 2020
Messages
27
Reaction score
15
I have MP10W’s, pre-2018. Do they even have a chip in them to be upgraded? Assuming mobius gets configured to even drive them.
 

LiamPM

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
166
Reaction score
229
so I have five brand new xr 30g4 pros Aug. 19 date code and the one that I have opened has a black chip and it will not connect to mobius.
I have MP10W’s, pre-2018. Do they even have a chip in them to be upgraded? Assuming mobius gets configured to even drive them.
Regarding lights only G5 are available on Mobius right now, it’s a stepped roll out to deal with any issues easier, pumps were a short while back, lights will be in the very near future.

If your pump is a WES then yes it has a chip, but even if it doesn’t you can add one....if you have a reeflink click the info tab on ESL to see what chip or simply open the controller, it’s 3 screws and then visible so nothing to worry about regarding opening it. I have a 6 year old MP40 upgraded and on Mobius.
 

LiamPM

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
166
Reaction score
229
What do you mean not on the mobius list yet? Is the app slowly being rolled out as a update?

Yes - the “update legacy devices” option is appearing for people in a stepped manor.... I guess it’s to control the amount using it in case of any issues... ie, a friend had it a few weeks before myself. Just boot the app regularly to see.
 

Are you currently running a reactor and media on your reef tank?

  • Yes (please tell us what in the thread)

    Votes: 153 38.5%
  • NO but I run media from time to time

    Votes: 122 30.7%
  • NO I don't use filter media

    Votes: 112 28.2%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 10 2.5%

Online statistics

Members online
1,996
Guests online
6,236
Total visitors
8,232
GHL Advanced Technology
Top