How do i get fin scrapes?

Jjd531

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi I recently had 2 tangs die from an unknown disease. I took fin samples from them very shortly after they died and examined them under a microscope and had some results. I now want to fin scrape a live fish and see if I can't find anything else. I don't believe the two tangs was a one off event and they were likely just more susceptible. If someone could maybe give me a tutorial or link to good information about getting samples from small live fish that would be very useful to me. Also if anyone can help identify anything, here are the pictures of my tangs fins scrapes. They looked eerily similar to oodinium but im not an expert in fish disease by any means that would also explain how my fish died so quick upon first symptoms, which was around 24-36 hours after symptoms appeared. Right now I just need more data if I want to identify anything and verify my suspicions. The black dots are what im referring to. I wish I got a higher magnification on them but I thought they were just scab materia where fins were damaged. I still have 2 samples frozen, not sure how viable they are but thats all I got aside from doing a live fin scraping.

Snapchat-1160039630.jpg Snapchat-987296199.jpg

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I generally use an anesthetic before doing a skin scrape, but in a pinch, if you are really careful you can do one freehanded. Fish with ctenoid scales, like pygmy angels are tough to scrape. For fish with cycloid scales (smoother, more mucus skin) you just hold the fish gently in a net and gently drag forceps head to tail along a portion of the fish's side. Then, rinse off the mucus into a watch glass with seawater.

I prefer diagnostic FW dips though. Here is an excerpt from my upcoming disease book:

Skin scrape vs. diagnostic bath