How many 3-4 inch fish can I have in a 55 gallon

BRS

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
3,168
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Do you have a protein skimmer?
I used to have a big skimmer when I kept seahorses in this tank. However, with my ornamental macro algae, I do not want the water column stripped of so many nutrients so I took it off line to see how the tank would do without it and it did great. Yes, my nitrates run high (25-30 ppm) and phosphates are in the .2 - .5ppm range but I do not have nuisance algae so the high nutrients work for me.
I doubt my tank would grow acros very well but I am a softie/LPS gal so it's fine. I hate testing parameters so watching alk, calcium and magnesium would detract from my enjoyment, and those need to be monitored to grow acros.
I guess I have tailored my tank to suit me.
 
Upvote 0

GARRIGA

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 12, 2021
Messages
1,077
Reaction score
766
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
South Florida
I used to have a big skimmer when I kept seahorses in this tank. However, with my ornamental macro algae, I do not want the water column stripped of so many nutrients so I took it off line to see how the tank would do without it and it did great. Yes, my nitrates run high (25-30 ppm) and phosphates are in the .2 - .5ppm range but I do not have nuisance algae so the high nutrients work for me.
I doubt my tank would grow acros very well but I am a softie/LPS gal so it's fine. I hate testing parameters so watching alk, calcium and magnesium would detract from my enjoyment, and those need to be monitored to grow acros.
I guess I have tailored my tank to suit me.
WWC runs similar nitrates. Seems that SPS requirements might be to restructure because of the internet. I’m not going to let the internet tell me I can’t do something. Once I solve my ph issue.

BTW, have you considered allowing more macro algae or running a separate refugium to supplement the display?
 
Upvote 0

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
3,168
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
WWC runs similar nitrates. Seems that SPS requirements might be to restructure because of the internet. I’m not going to let the internet tell me I can’t do something. Once I solve my ph issue.

BTW, have you considered allowing more macro algae or running a separate refugium to supplement the display?
Actually, I do have a 30 gallon refugium in my basement where I throw all my pruned macros from the display. I hate just discarding them, LOL!
 
Upvote 0
OP
L

leo12345

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jun 17, 2022
Messages
223
Reaction score
50
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Austin
Actually, I do have a 30 gallon refugium in my basement where I throw all my pruned macros from the display. I hate just discarding them, LOL!
Do you think a hob refugium would do anything or it would do so little theres no point in having one? i dont have a space under my tank for a sump so hob is my only option.
 
Upvote 0

Aqua Man

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 19, 2020
Messages
1,259
Reaction score
1,652
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
What kind of filtration would i need for all the fish i want? Right now i only have a protein skimmer and a hob filter
Is your tank a standard 55? Hob filters can work. Which HOB did you get? I’d run 2 Hob rated for 55 gallons.

Is your tank up and running yet? Just add the fish slowly. I like waiting a few months in between additions. Provide plenty of good hiding/sleeping spots in the rock scape.
 
Upvote 0

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 5, 2014
Messages
4,404
Reaction score
3,168
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Do you think a hob refugium would do anything or it would do so little theres no point in having one? i dont have a space under my tank for a sump so hob is my only option.
I think there is some benefit to a hob fuge. The macro algae can still take up nutrients plus pods can live and propagate there. It won't add much to the water volume but that's not the only benefit of a fuge. I would do a hob as opposed to not having a fuge.
 
Upvote 0
BRS

Have you bred fish in your tanks?

  • I have bred saltwater fish

    Votes: 37 13.6%
  • I have bred freshwater fish

    Votes: 118 43.2%
  • Not yet, but I am interested in breeding fish

    Votes: 63 23.1%
  • I think it is an interesting idea, but not my thing

    Votes: 62 22.7%
  • I am not interested in breeding fish

    Votes: 42 15.4%
World Wide Corals
Top