How many chromis to stock?

alex277

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been keeping freshwater tanks for about 15 years and have set up my first saltwater tank. The cycle is now completed and ready to start stocking, going to order some fish tonight or tomorrow. I'm not entirely sure on stocking levels for saltwater, as it is different from freshwater, so any insight would be helpful! The tank I have is a waterbox 220.6, the display is about 170 gallons (6'x2'x2') with a sump that holds just shy of 40 gallons. I planned on stocking:

1 purple tang
1 yellow tang
1 blue tang
1 foxface
2 clownfish
5 lyretail anthias
(?) green chromis
1 diamond goby
1 fromia star

This doesn't include clean up crew - I will be getting crabs and snails in addition to the above mentioned :) My primary question is how many chromis I should add in, based on the size of this tank and with respect to how many fish are going in other than them. What would be a good number to add? I was thinking 7, 9, or 11? Or would more be ideal? They are gonna be the first, along with the pair of clowns, going in, so I'm trying to get an idea of how many of these guys I'll be adding before starting to buy them.

Additionally, does the above stocking list look about right for a tank this size? Too many fish, or could I maybe fit a bit more? Like I said I'm still trying to gauge appropriate stocking levels for saltwater. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In that tank, 10 ish just as you thought.
They are more successful in larger tanks like yours and high numbers spread that aggression out even more.

doubleshot00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1 purple tang
1 yellow tang
1 blue tang
1 foxface
Add these last and at the same time. Maybe in about 2 months after you added the others.

Add the clowns then after a few weeks add 3-4 more.