how to achieve adequate flow on a 1000 gallon mixed reef

jt17

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 2, 2012
Messages
1,273
Reaction score
368
Location
Winter Haven, FL
It will be difficult to get the flow you want with a closed loop. You will use way more energy than with powerheads.
A combination of Mp60, maxpect gyre 280 or panta rei will move water more efficiently
 

Water Dog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 28, 2016
Messages
2,814
Reaction score
2,962
Location
Fairfield, CT
i forgot to mention that it is a closed loop system not sure if that changes anything
That certainly does... I‘d love to see the plumbing layout on your closed loop in a tank of that size. While I don’t personally have experience with a closed loop, I know @ca1ore uses a closed loop in addition to traditional powerheads on his 450. I believe he uses a Vectra to run his closed loop. It’s one of the benefits of the different wave modes found on modern DC return pumps, and is really where they shine. They also aren’t bogged down with head pressure limitations in closed loop applications.
 

ca1ore

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
8,206
Reaction score
10,816
Location
Stamford, CT
Even though closed loops are probably viewed as ‘old tech’ by many younger reefers, I actually think modern, variable DC pumps have changed the calculation. A couple of vectra L2 pumps on a closed loop of adequate diameter will push a lot of water a long way. OK, maybe not the same total broad volume as a vortech MP60, but certainly with greater reach. I personally use both MP60s and a closed loop. Panta Rhei 63 (hyrowizard) is a nice pump, but it has a significant intank profile and is quite pricey. For the price of a single ECM63, you can buy three MP60.
 
OP
Q

quirkylemon103

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 21, 2019
Messages
29
Reaction score
23
what i'l probably do is have the closed loop for the non flow demanding coral and then a 1 ecm63 for the more demanding corals. and then 3 or 4 mp6os.
 
Corals.com

C. Eymann

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
1,408
Reaction score
2,439
Location
Tampa area
I'd be looking into closed loop setup like others mentioned, maybe a Tunze master stream? :p
 

ca1ore

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 28, 2014
Messages
8,206
Reaction score
10,816
Location
Stamford, CT

vetteguy53081

Well known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2013
Messages
18,104
Reaction score
30,237
Location
Sheboygan, WI
I have 660g with similar footprint. I run a Reeflo hammerhead gold and 4 outlets on right side and looped over the top to the left side with another 2 outlets.
 

pdxmonkeyboy

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 7, 2017
Messages
1,436
Reaction score
1,630
some of the new jebao pumps push some serious water for under $200. I have a 4,000 gph closed loop from a jebao that runs at 110 watts and cost me $150.

It is a shame that soo many people just parrot what they heard and say "closed loop is old school" and "you use too much power to move water" is that they fail to realize three important things.

1. closed loop can put the flow right where you need it!! Mine comes through the bottom of the tank.
2. DC powered pumps are very efficient
3. and the biggest thing is they REQUIRE ZERO MAINTENANCE. maybe once a year pump cleaning. I love my gyres but the flow will drop 50% in 6 weeks if you don't clean them. The closed loop just keeps chugging along.
 

Ridgeway

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
177
Location
Lausanne, Switzerland

Ridgeway

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 23, 2017
Messages
111
Reaction score
177
Location
Lausanne, Switzerland
For your question about flow. I installed only powerheads on my system, starting with 4 x MP60's and then later on adding 2 x Gyre XF280's, i also have around 4,000 gph coming from the return pump that feeds under the rock scape, it's a kind of reef flush that splits roughly 50/50 over the 2 sides.

As the coral has grown out i now have a serious dead spot on my front LHS and as so far i have achieved a "no visible equipment" look then i'm loathed to install a PH in that area and a CL would have been perfect, it's like is posted above that CL's are really perfect for discreet positioning and getting to awkward corners, especially in deep tanks, mine like yours is nearly 4ft high.

So my advice would be use both smartly and plan well. CL's certainly can't easily be added afterwards but an additional PH can be.

I'm just installing another XF280 here in the next week and actually ordered 2 as i think i'll need to add a 4th unit quite soon.....
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

What is the deciding factor(s) for why you choose the salt you use? Mulitple choice available!

  • Price

    Votes: 232 40.5%
  • Brand Loyality

    Votes: 67 11.7%
  • Mixes Easy

    Votes: 186 32.5%
  • Mixes Clean

    Votes: 218 38.0%
  • Mixes to the right parameters

    Votes: 349 60.9%
  • Easy to get

    Votes: 168 29.3%
  • Other (please post in the thread)

    Votes: 34 5.9%

Online statistics

Members online
623
Guests online
2,560
Total visitors
3,183
Mistress Corals
Top