How to proceed with a Used tank.

skynite

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to saltwater and new to aquariums in general. I'd like to get the opinions of you veterans out there on how I should proceed with my 100 gallon tank setup. I've purchased a 100 gallon tank from a friend who is upgrading to a larger tank. At this point, I'm almost done with the aquascaping of my dry rocks and ready to cycle my rocks for the next two months.

My 100 gallon tank with come fully assembled and ready to go with live sand and a living sump. My question is, if I'm cycling my dry rocks over the next 2 months to make them live, should I start fresh with a clean tank and clean out the sand and sump and start fresh? Or do I leave the sand and sump and whatever bacteria and pest may be in there and just add my rocks to it?

I'm not sure how I should proceed.
thx

OP
OP
skynite

skynite

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the link Road Warrior. I should have been more clear, right now I'll be cycling some dry rocks in a separate brute container for the next 2 months while I wait for my friend to move the inhabitants of his 100 gallon tank to his new larger tank. Once he completes the transfer, I'll be getting his complete 100 gallon setup with an intact sump, sand and everything already established with bacteria. Livestock, coral, and rocks will not be included. Would it be a good idea to clean out everything and start fresh with the rocks I'm cycling separately? He mentioned that he has some worms under his sand that sometimes show up at night. If I remove the sand, dry it out, and clean out all the pests, would I get rid of all the worms in the tank? Or is it an advantage to have a tank that is established already and not worry about the pests that it may contain?

kenniole

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0