How To: turn your old router into a wireless adapter using dd-wrt

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by ToXIc, Apr 12, 2011.

  1. ToXIc

    ToXIc Valuable Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    TN
    ok so i see a lot of ppl wasting money on buying a wireless adapter to connect to their Controllers.. this step-by-step will show you how to create a wireless adapter with an extra home router.. basically you're replacing the router's firmware with dd-wrt's

    Things you need:

    Old/New router - see link for compatibility Router Database | www.dd-wrt.com (for this demonstration i'm using a Linksys WRT54G, you can also look on craigslist for a cheap used router)
    Your current router (will act as the host)
    Ethernet Cord

    [​IMG]

    Tip: always a good idea to reset the router you're turning into the wireless adapter.. for most brands there is a reset button at the back...

    [​IMG]

    Steps:
    1 - Upgrading the router firmware to dd-wrt

    1-1: Download dd-wrt software.. you can get the software by following this link.. after entering your router into it will give you a link to download the firmware..
    1-2: Hook up your router to you computer using the Ethernet cable in and of the LAN ports (ports labeled 1-4)
    1-3: Enter your routers address into your browser and enter the credentials.. it will be either http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.2.1
    1-4: Navigate to the firmware update section; then click browse and select the downloaded firmware then click upgrade
    NOTE: very important do not disrupt the upgrade process or you may brick your router..
    1-5: After the upgrade/update the dd-wrt credentials are:
    login: root
    password: admin

    here is some video's i found on youtube that may help also
    YouTube - [How To] Install Custom Firmware DD-WRT on Linksys Router
    YouTube - Installing DD-WRT on a Linksys WRT54G v2 Router

    2 - Configure the router to be a wireless adapter to receive a wireless signal

    2-1: Now navigate to the management console via http://192.168.1.1 or http://192.168.2.1 depending on the model
    2-2: log in using the dd-wrt credentials in step 1-5
    2-3: Select the Wireless then Basic Settings tab
    2-4: Change Wireless Mode to Client Bridge , change Wireless Network Name (SSID) to your wireless name of the host then press the Save Settings button
    2-5: Select Wireless then Wireless Security tab
    2-6: Enter wireless security settings of your wireless host and press the Save Settings button.
    2-7: Select Setup then Basic Setup tab
    2-8: Change Local IP Address to 192.168.1.2
    2-9: Change Subnet Mask to 255.255.255.0
    2-10: Change Gateway to Host router’s Local IP 192.168.1.1
    2-11: Change Local DNS to Host router’s Local IP 192.168.1.1
    2-12: Click on save then apply settings.. the router may reboot..
    2-13: Optional goto the Security tab and Disable Firewall and uncheck all boxes..
    2-14: Goto Setup, Advance Routing change Operating Mode to Router
    2-15: Save and Apply Settings and you're done..

    YouTube - DD-WRT Router Client Bridge Tutorial (Simple and Easy)
    YouTube - DD-WRT Client And Repeater Setup (you'll need to use the Client Bridge option in the 2nd 1/2 of the video)

    Now you have a wireless/gaming adapter that only costs $20-$30 and can support up to 4 devices.. rather than spending $60-$120 on a dedicated adapter that only supports 1 device...
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2011
    andy71 and n8zirkle like this.
    Tags:

  2. ianiwane

    ianiwane Valuable Member Reef Spotlight Award

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    SF, CA
  3. subielover

    subielover Renegade reefer R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Eastern PA
    Very interesting, I have been thinking of buying a wireless gaming adapter to get my ACIII online but this seems even cheaper. I just checked an old router I had laying around and of course it isn't supported, going to call a few people to see if I can track down one that is compatible. So basically, after it is set-up you would have to plug it in to the controller itself, but would the ethernet cable still need to be plugged in?

    I apologize for the, most likely, dumb questions but I am not very computer savvy. Thanks.
     
  4. ToXIc

    ToXIc Valuable Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    TN
    yeah but not too many ppl will be able/comfortable with TFTP

    the dd-wrt router will act as a wireless Ethernet cable hooked up to your main router.. so all you have to do is place the devices into it and not have a very long cable running across you house..
     
    ParadiseReef likes this.
  5. subielover

    subielover Renegade reefer R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,892
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Eastern PA
    Awesome, thank you very for your time writing this, I appreciate it :)
     
  6. ianiwane

    ianiwane Valuable Member Reef Spotlight Award

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    SF, CA
    True, I had to brick a router (or thought I bricked a router) before thinking about even trying tftp. On certain routers flashing it the normal route can render them useless a good percent of the time. The good news is that if it happens to you, you still have a good chance flashing it through tftp.
     
  7. Electrobes

    Electrobes Valuable Member R2R Excellence Award Article Contributor Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,087
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    Dude this should definitely be a sticky post.. I am saving it when I get my controller in sometime in the near future. Thanks so much man!
     
  8. Saltwatercoral2

    Saltwatercoral2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carbondale
    Yes, I agree, this should be a sticky post. I was just looking at gaming adapters. Pretty sure I have an old linkskys somewhere around here.
     
  9. sdsocal

    sdsocal Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Diego
    Nice job and read on this.

    Not trying to be Captain Obvious, but I glanced over the thread and didn't see it mentioned that the "Home Router" to be used needs to be a Wireless Router. I know it seems obvious, but thought I would just mention it.
     
  10. Ericm1205

    Ericm1205 Clownfish Hoarder

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Downingtown, Pa
    my Linksys WRT600n was crapping out alot on me and would lock up DDWRT is a great program to use. now my router is awesome once again. i seen my router go for $400 with DD WRT on it. crazy. i paid $100 for it used.
    if you want to make your router faster then not only make the adapter with an old router, but i would DD WRT any router you have to unlock its potential.
     
  11. ToXIc

    ToXIc Valuable Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    TN
    ^^^

    Yes dd-wrt is much better at overall performance than the factory performance.


    There is also another firmware package called tomato.
     
  12. ToXIc

    ToXIc Valuable Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    TN
    Did you find it?
     
  13. ToXIc

    ToXIc Valuable Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    TN
    Thanks guys. I submitted it to the mods. Hopefully they'll thinks it's worthy also.
     
    Insane320 likes this.
  14. greg0385

    greg0385 Valuable Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,324
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    summertown,tn
    very nice write up. i was regretting having to drill a 1/2"hole behind my tv to run a ethernet cable from router to the xbox, then another behind my tank so i can hook up my controller. this is might be a good option for me to use in the future. thanks again.
     
  15. ToXIc

    ToXIc Valuable Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    TN
    Yeah but even if you knew about doing this I would of still ran your xbox off Ethernet. Better performance for fragging newbs.


    ____________________________
    Sent from my iThingy using Tapatalk
     
  16. cdness

    cdness 2006 - Present Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,978
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    West Fargo, ND
    I did the same thing to one of my many old Linksys routers. Watch Garage sales or Craigslist. As people start buying the newer N rated wireless they give away or sell super cheap their old (and bulletproof) linksys wireless G routers. DD-WRT has been on my two or three for the past 5 years at least.

    Mods - Please sticky this post. It sure makes hooking up controllers to wireless way easier and unfortunately isn't very well known.

    "fragging newbs" - HA HA! Is that a new coral fragging game from Xbox?? lol.
     
  17. xmetalfan99

    xmetalfan99 Let's Go Mountaineers!!! R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Morgantown, WV
    I plan on doing this to hook my bluray player up to my wireless network. I am not a fan of having to run a 50ft cat5 to it everytime I want to see if there is a software update for it.
     
  18. ToXIc

    ToXIc Valuable Member R2R Supporter MTRCMember

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3,820
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    TN
    Lol sorry had salt on the brain. It should fracking up newbs......

    And the old WRT G routers are bullet proof. And yes you could flash a N router to do this but it won't help much. The controller isn't a device that need plenty of bandwidth.


    ____________________________
    Sent from my iThingy using Tapatalk
     
  19. Gpkozmp

    Gpkozmp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Okay a quick question about trying to understand this. I am wanting to do this however I am wondering, does this take the place for my RKL Net module?

    In question I could mount this to my fish tank and this will relay the information to the internet via the router and I will be able to control everything just like if I bought the net module?

    If I am wong could someone please correct me and help me undertand exactly what this would do for me. Thank you for your time.
     
  20. swannyson7

    swannyson7 Moderator/Acro Aficianado R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Spotlight Award Photo of the Month Award CTARS Member Moderator Emeritus

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    6,712
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Bantam, Connecticut
    The RKL-NET requires a wired connection via Ethernet cable. This router would act as a wireless bridge and would plug into your RKL-NET so that you don't have to run an ethernet cable.
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2011
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...