HYDROS WaveEngine at Reefapalooza Orlando 2019

CoralVue

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
27

In this latest episode of [CVtv], Carlos shows us the NEW Hydros WaveEngine that was recently unveiled at Reefapalooza Orlando. This exciting new device from Coralvue will forever change the way we control and power the pumps in our aquariums.

The HYDROS Wave Engine solves two very common frustrations with modern controllable aquarium pumps.

COMPREHENSIVE CONTROL
The powerful and easy to use app (Android and iOS) lets you manage ALL of your pumps and powerheads from a single interface without sacrificing the native capabilities or performance. You can mix and match to wirelessly control most any brand of pump you desire and create schedules, utilize preset flow patterns and monitor individual pump performance.

DITCH THE CLUTTER
Our engineers designed the unit in such a way to eliminate control modules and bulky DC power bricks whenever possible. The WaveEngine houses an intelligent 5 amp power supply - any pump suitable for direct connection will no longer need the native control module or DC power supply which will really help to free up precious space under your tank and reduce the clutter caused by excessive wires and cords. Tell us what you think in the comments!

LEARN MORE: www.hydroswaveengine.com

#coralvue #hydroswaveengine #powerhead #waterflow
 

Big G

captain dunsel
View Badges
Joined
Jun 8, 2017
Messages
8,372
Reaction score
16,846
Location
Southern, Oregon
Bump
 

Flore

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
36
Double post
 
Last edited:

Flore

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
36
The problem is that the Apex control is too limited.

It’s one single 0-10V for all pumps, it would be better to have a full software interface so more complex programs can be written, or at least multiple 0-10V to control pumps individually.

For example in feed mode, I turn off 2 pumps but leave one running at 20% to distribute food.
 
Last edited:
OP
CoralVue

CoralVue

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
27
You would definitely be able to do that very easily.

On the WaveEngine, you can define your feed patterns and then specify which pump to turn off and which pumps to keep running at X speed. So when the APEX sends the signal to the WaveEngine to engage Feed, the WaveEngine will then run the Feed pattern which you have specifically designed based on your needs.
 

Flore

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
36
Thanks for the fast reply

So is this possible:
0V feed mode (two pump off, one 20%)
5V all pumps 50 %

What would be awesome if each voltage setting 0, 1, 2 would be possible to match to one program on the wavengine.

That would be really powerful
 
OP
CoralVue

CoralVue

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
27
Yes, the Wave Engine can control each pump separately too. You create a Feed profile on the WaveEngine and then when the APEX starts feed, so will the WaveEngine.

You can also create a "Water Change" profile on the WaveEngine that turns off all pumps. Then create a trigger on the APEX for water change and when the APEX sends the signal, the WaveEngine will start the profile Water Change and turn off all the pumps.
 

Flore

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
36
How does the Apex trigger each
- Feed
- water change
Profile?

If all you have is 0-10v? Is 0V water change, 5V feed for example? How does this work?

Thanks
 

MarineDepot

Build a Better Aquarium
View Badges
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
3,437
Reaction score
1,357
Location
Garden Grove, CA
Game changer!!!! Really looking forward to this! :D
 
OP
CoralVue

CoralVue

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
27
Easy!!!

You connect the WaveEngine to one of the APEX VS ports. Then you add the following code:

If FeedA 000:00 Then X

X is a voltage (1-100) that would also be the same on the WaveEngine. When you turn ON feed on the APEX, the VS port will send that specific voltage to the WaveEngine. The WaveEngine will then see that same voltage INPUT is associated with a particular flow pattern, in this case FEED, and start it.

The voltage for water change would be different...

If Outlet Water_Change = ON Then Y

This means that the APEX will send Y voltage (1-100) to the WaveEngine. The WaveEngine has that INPUT voltage associated with the water change pattern so it will execute it.
 

Flore

Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
29
Reaction score
36
Awesome solution. That’s what I was hoping for, so we can set lot of different profiles on the WaveEngine and associate them to a voltage level on the Apex.

You should update your video / descriptions, this is a great solution.

Now I just need to figure out how to make this work outside of the US in August...
 
OP
CoralVue

CoralVue

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
27
Awesome solution. That’s what I was hoping for, so we can set lot of different profiles on the WaveEngine and associate them to a voltage level on the Apex.

You should update your video / descriptions, this is a great solution.

Now I just need to figure out how to make this work outside of the US in August...
Yes, the WaveEngine was designed to be very powerful. Give people the APEX compatibility they want but still do all the pump flow controlling without having to write a single line of code on the APEX.

Yes, we wanted to do that on the video but it would be way too technical for some. We are going to release a series of tutorial videos that will cover this more in depth. That way you only watch that particular video if it pertains to you... ;)
 

MSB123

Someone out there put something smart here.
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2017
Messages
3,396
Reaction score
3,145
Location
Santa Barbara, CA
What is the price going to be?
 

Dondante

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 7, 2018
Messages
361
Reaction score
171
Will this give me more options than the gyre advanced controller in Apex? I have 2 Gyre 250s. I'm considering this over the Ice cap modules for apex(see my other post) the Gyre controllability was going to be my next question.
 
OP
CoralVue

CoralVue

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
27
Yes, with the APEX, you have to write code to make the pumps run. You have to create profiles with different flow patterns and then add virtual outlets and write code on those outlets and then write code on the variable speed port to call the virtual outlets who then can execute the profiles.

The HYDROS WaveEngine has many different flow patterns already created that can be used on ANY pump that is connected to the WaveEngine. Regardless of the pump being connected wirelessly, directly or via 0-10, they have access to all the preset patterns. You do not need to create any patterns yourself if you do not want to.
 

chicago

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 28, 2014
Messages
933
Reaction score
274
Location
chicago
Recently got a pair of 350 Gyree's one controller.. controller seems pretty hot.. I assume this will do away with that Gyree controller?
 

Oberst Hajj

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
281
Reaction score
62
Location
Colorado Springs
@CoralVue , I'm in the process of planning out the equipment for a ~350g tank build this fall. I was already looking at the Maxspect Gyre FX 3oo series for flow in the tank and twin VarioS 6 pumps for the returns. Am I correct in assuming that those 4 pumps would connect to the Hydros (using the 4 Pump Driver Output ports) and I would not need a Maxspect Advanced Gyre Controller?

The Hydros page says it can do "sync, anti-sync, triangle wave, square wave, sine wave as well as many other preset wave patterns." Is there a full list some place of the "many other preset wave patterns"? Edit: I did find these patterns in a screen shot; Constant Speed, Ocean Swell, SPS Reef, LPS Reef, Gyre, Nutrient Export, Random, Four Square. Can you elaborate on LPS Reef, Nutrient Export and Four Square please?

Finally, can you explain what/how the blue and purple ports are used please?
 
Last edited:

Online statistics

Members online
847
Guests online
1,921
Total visitors
2,768
Top