I’m new to making salt. Am I being efficient?

Miami Reef

Clam Fanatic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank is 250 gallons. I used to have NSW delivered, but now I’m doing all my water changes at home.

This is my current system:
44 gallon brute with float valve. I add the salt to this bucket. Mix. And add a pump inside with a tube to transfer to tank.

I find myself having to always check to salinity. I can never get it to consistently match and I feel like I’m wasting my time.

Also, If I don’t use all the saltwater (now I have QT tanks) then I either have to dump it out, or save it and play guessing games because now my RODI isn’t pure RODI. So I’ll have to add small amounts of salt and keep testing.

I really don’t have the time to play with salt.

Can someone tell me what is the best method for me?

E7B5C6E8-EA5E-4F10-B928-9271530A301A.jpeg

coralfishreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Setup a mixing station and separate RODI reservoir if you have a dedicated place and the space.

A typical setup would be to have 1 container for RODI, 1 mixing container, and 1 mixed saltwater container. Depending on the salt, the mixed salt could sit in the mixed container for months unused.

OP
OP
Miami Reef

Miami Reef

Clam Fanatic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The only place I have is in the garage. And it’s pretty far from the tank and there’s a step.

My brute trash can has wheels.

Can I do it in my garage? No cars are parked in here.
75751FAF-B22A-4824-900C-F3422C9122D9.jpeg

Lost in the Sauce

BANGERANG!!!!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can't tell you the best, but can share what's working for me.

RODI fills the Brute with clean water on a float switch. This always stays full of rodi in case I need to mix up more fast.

Small pump transfers water into the 55g where there is a permanent pump mixing/circulating.