I’m starting to realize that I don’t know what I’m doing Biocube 32

moorjames

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
just a thanks to the coolest community around!

anyways- I’m still pretty new to this and I’m really trying to understand my filtration system in my Biocube 32. So I watched a couple YouTube videos (so I know everything lol) and decided to combined them all and toss it in the back. I just purchased the intank media basket and fuge basket and should be here in a couple days.
Anyways I have been watching a lot of the BRS videos and noticed that I’m probably being redundant in many aspects
5B318183-A51D-4714-B1DC-60EC4CFAC502.jpeg

I had planned on using these along with the fuge (chaeto algae). But now I’m seeing that the vibrant will probably kill my algae and these all look like it’s for the same thing.
I plan on having mostly corals in the tank along with a few fish and my goal was to try and prevent the ugly stage. However I feel like I’m just tossing money out the window with these products.
Am I wrong? Do I need to use these with each other?

Macbalacano

Recovering Reef Addict
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You'll probably get different answers by here's my 2 cents:

1) Seachem matrix is good, i'd use it. Its meant to act as your biofilter by 'housing' good bacteria in the tank which converts/consumes waste and nutrients.

2) I've never used chemipure, but have heard really good things about it. I'd personally keep it on hand for now and only use it if you were having a phosphate or silicate issue and you're actively trying to lower either. Having that said - I wouldn't use it until you have actually tested and measured either of those nutrients and decide that you actually need to use it.

3) Regarding Vibrant, you'll hear mixed reviews, albeit I think mostly positive. I used it for the first few months of my tank and I totally skipped the uglies stage. Pretty good stuff in my opinion.