I think my tank may be infected...seeking advice

jls13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to saltwater tanks (and aquariums in general). I've been told that white poop signifies internal parasites. Well, I just noticed that my dwarf flame angel has white poop hanging (see pic) and I have a juvenile clownfish which hasn't eaten in two days. Quite frankly I am not even sure if they are related (or even an issue). Can someone with more experience than myself suggest cause as well as best treatments? Thanks in advance!

angel.jpg

HotRocks

Fish Fanatic!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes that is either intestinal parasites or worms.

Add 1 scoop focus + 1 scoop general cure to 1 Tablespoon of prepared frozen food. Feed the food for 14 days. Sometimes it can take up to 3 weeks to fully eradicate. So if you still see white stringy poop at 14 days continue for an additional 7.

I recommend only storing food in refrigerator after prepared for 3-5 days. Toss and make new if there are leftovers.

Last edited by a moderator:

Frtdrmrose7

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to saltwater tanks (and aquariums in general). I've been told that white poop signifies internal parasites. Well, I just noticed that my dwarf flame angel has white poop hanging (see pic) and I have a juvenile clownfish which hasn't eaten in two days. Quite frankly I am not even sure if they are related (or even an issue). Can someone with more experience than myself suggest cause as well as best treatments? Thanks in advance!

angel.jpg

^^+1 but I will add if the clown is no longer eating he may need to go into QT where you can dose meds to the water to suppress internal parasites to get him eating the med laced food.

Welcome to R2R!!

OP
OP
J

jls13

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0