I'm a reefer newbie and I'm stoked to join your community!

Cell

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!

RC51

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone! Newbie reefer reporting from Southern California (Inland Empire area.) I started my foray into aquariums with my first freshwater tank in December 2020, and I’ve fallen for what I can only describe as “need moar tanks!” syndrome. I have a 2.5yr old daughter who absolutely loves our 5gal betta freshwater aquarium, and I suspect getting another tank will only further cement her love for the hobby! After investigating the options available, I became fascinated with marine life, its various fish, corals and the whole reef ecosystem. So for the last few months I’ve been itching to get a saltwater tank setup. After research (and one returned Waterbox Cube 20…short story is I impulse bought before really understanding sumps and their benefits), I decided the best option for my size/room requirements was a Waterbox Marine X 35.1. Main reason for this cube 22g choice is because I work in a home office on my computer all day, and I think having it next to me will be a great ‘bonding’ experience. Plus, it will be in my webcam background and hopefully a fun addition to my meetings. I went with the Waterbox Marine over the Red Sea Reefer line mainly because I wanted to be more picky about what hardware I used. Quiet is key - it’s sitting right next to me afterall. Nearly everything is backordered for Waterbox, and I’ve been not so patiently waiting for my order since June 9th. I just got a shipment notification though (arriving next week), so it was time to post my intro here!

Excited to be a part of this community and to hopefully one day contribute to the vast amount of information and knowledge available.