I'm new to saltwater tanks and adding hydrogen peroxide to it. What are all the pros and cons

Frostynipps

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to saltwater tanks and adding hydrogen peroxide 4ml (32g) to it. What are all the pros and cons ? I love my clowns and don't want to kill them or anything good.

JumboShrimp

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In an established 20-gallon tank I had some hard-to-get-rid-of algae and overall brown wall-sludge (Lol). Someone here said dose Hydrogen Peroxide when the lights were off, 10 days in a row, and add bottled bacteria when the lights were on, for the same 10 days. It helped immensely: that’s all I can say. :)

Reef.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to saltwater tanks and adding hydrogen peroxide 4ml (32g) to it. What are all the pros and cons ? I love my clowns and don't want to kill them or anything good.

So you’ve been adding it but don’t know the pros and cons?

Nick Steele

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It should help with algae and keeping rocks a little more clean. I started doing it a few days back to back but my trachy didn’t seem to like it so I stopped.

Tbg299

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hydrogen peroxide is a highly corrosive base. Personally, I would never add it to any aquarium. There are much more effective and natural ways of removing nuisance algae.

OP
OP
Frostynipps

Frostynipps

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was treating for red bacteria and hair algae (its working great so far) and I trust my LFS guy. He had told me to do it but he didn't tell me what else its good for or what could happen if I did it wrong. its not effected anything negatively yet and its been 5 days

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Post a full tank shot of your reef