IM Nuvo Fusion Pro 2 - Return to Reefing

dieSalzwasserqual

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to my build thread! I've been a longtime lurker on the reef forums and am on my third reef tank, but this is my first build thread on Reef2Reef! I mostly see this as an opportunity to keep track of my own thoughts and observations and hopefully use to look back on my updates on this thread and identify any trends I might not notice in isolation.

As a bit of background, my first reef tank was a 40 breeder with a reef octopus HOB skimmer, a Chinese black box LED, and a whole lot of ambition. I had this tank for a couple of years while I was in high school, and had to break it down when I went off to college on the opposite coast. I was constantly plagued by aiptasia and and pink fluffy algae, and my frequent RODI filtration in the backyard annoyed my parents to no end, but I absolutely loved this tank.

FirstReef.thumb.jpeg.77dcf202c00659558a5657443f61dd95.jpeg

(A photo of my pest filled passion project)

When the pandemic hit and I was stuck learning via zoom in the "hometown annex" of my university, I decided that getting back into reefing with better equipment would be the way to go. I went with a Red Sea Reefer 170, which is currently sitting sans water in the corner of my room as I write this, which was such an amazing upgrade. I cannot speak more highly about the quality and experience that Red Sea tanks offer. A cross country move after graduating college and a rather time intensive public service job have made restarting the Reefer 170 an unattainable goal for now, but once a reefer, always a reefer, and I need the smell of freshly mixed saltwater in my life again.

ReefTank2.thumb.jpg.7e32ff73cc28a07f69d7280f7d54a465.jpg

(A picture of the Reefer 170 setup in its prime. Notice the absence of aiptasia and cotton candy algae. Progress!)