Inherited an Aquarium, Anenomes taking over

OceanTeacher

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I'm a first-year teacher who inherited a saltwater aquarium in my classroom. I've loved having it, and the kids are really invested in it, but I was focused only on maintenance so far this year. Now that I'm settling into my job, I've started to put more effort into keeping the aquarium running well.
I've noticed that some anemones have been spreading all over my tank. At first, I was happy because maybe it meant my water is good, but after a bit of research, I realized they're pests--glass anemones--and probably the reason the coral in the tank is slowly dying.
I looked up some various solutions, and was thinking of trying to get some Nudibranch Burgia to control them. However, I'm living in Asia, and have limited resources (can't speak the local language well enough to explain the problem to the local fish store, and ordering through the school takes weeks).
My questions is two-fold.
1. Is it a good idea to eventually get nudibranch burgia to help with my anemone problem?
2. What can I do in the meantime to control them? I really want to save my coral, and I'm afraid I found the problem too late.

NanoCrazed

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Pictures of the anemones? Depending whether they're pest anemones or not (which it sounds like they might be), the approach might differ...

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Depending on the size of the tank , you may get some kinds of fish to help.
For me , it was a pigmy angle.
You can also look at peppermint shrimp. The key to both of these in my experience is the aptasia are generally small , so you have to kill the larger ones.

Bergia are a Carribean nudi , so I’m not sure they’d be available there.

Jesterrace

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0