Introduction and Skimmer Question

Discussion in 'New to Saltwater & Reef Aquariums? Post Here' started by MountainZen, Aug 9, 2018.

1. MountainZen

MountainZen New Member

I owe everyone on here a Thank You!!. I’ve been stalking the forum for the last six months and have learned so much about the hobby by just reading through the posts. Had a FOWLR tank in college (20 years ago). Never lost interest, just didn't have the time. Thankfully, time is on my side now.

Have a 150gallon DT with sump and additional 55 gallon with half refuge and half additional LR. Live in a rural area, LFS had some Eshopps branded equipment and I felt that I should support local business so I bought a RS-300 sump and S-200 skimmer.

My concern is the protein skimmer. It has been running for about a week. It is producing a crazy amount of micro-bubbles. The water line is about 8 inches (recs are for 7-9). The skimmer is in the middle compartment of the sump and sending the bubbles to the return pump and then on to the tank. Even with the foam “bubble trap”. Anyone with experience on these skimmers. Do they take a while to calm down? Or am I doing something wrong.

Thanks.

Fudsey, Idoc and Crabs Mcjones like this.
    Tags:

2. Diesel

Diesel String Stalker. R2R Supporter Reef Spotlight Award R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Partner Member 2018

It could be that your skimmer is still breaking in.
    Any pics?

Lovemyreef2015, Fudsey, PDR and 4 others like this.
  3. Crabs Mcjones

Crabs Mcjones The Gif-A-Nator R2R Supporter Reef Squad Leader R2R Excellence Award Reef Tank 365 Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

Welcome to R2R AMD thanks for saying hello :) skimmers generally have a break in period when they're brand new. Best advice is to open the air valve all the way and let it do its thing until it calms down. Be sure to share pictures of your setup, we love pictures;)
    giphy (10).gif #WelcometoR2R