ION Director pricing announced! Pre-order yours today!

robbyg

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
978
Reaction score
1,086
No need to wait, it doesn’t. Will it ever? I doubt it. There is more on this issue that has been posted but it’s all speculation.
I think I have narrowed down the probe they are using and if I am correct they could test for several other substances but the only ones that would make any sense in a SW aquarium would be Ammonium and pH level. My guess is that they will use the pH value to calculate out the Ammonia levels using the basic equilibrium laws between them. They might display pH also just so people can verify their existing probes are calibrated, but the data would be once or twice a day so it really is not a substitute for a regular pH probe.
 
Last edited:

Makki_73

Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 22, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
51
I think I have narrowed down the probe they are using and if I am correct they could test for several other substances but the only ones that would make any sense in a SW aquarium would be Ammonium and pH. My guess is that they will use the pH value to calculate out the Ammonia levels using the basic equilibrium laws between them. They might display pH also just so people can verify their existing probes are calibrated, but the data would be once or twice a day so it really is not a substitute for a regular pH probe.
So you're saying no way for phosphate testing ?
 

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Joined
Aug 14, 2016
Messages
21,248
Reaction score
53,908
Location
Decatur, AL
So you're saying no way for phosphate testing ?
The issue isn't that phosphates can't be tested in this manner. The problem is accuracy/resolution at the very low ranges we want for a reef tank.
 

Ditto

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 25, 2017
Messages
1,806
Reaction score
2,316
Location
Albany, NY
Videos in English will be coming before it is released in action..

Reefaplooza Chicago:

 
Last edited:

robbyg

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
978
Reaction score
1,086
Videos in English will be coming before it is released in action..

Reefaplooza Chicago:
Thanks, but I saw this one a long time ago. I really want to see it in action taking some readings and then have them compared to Test kits or better yet ICP tests.
 

robbyg

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
978
Reaction score
1,086
is it the star trek way of saying sodium? or is it a typotrium ;Clown
Pure Sodium is a metal (Na) and that element is what the probe is measuring.
We are use to dealing with Sodium Chloride NaCl. Since this is a one to one ratio it really does not matter as the reading should be the same. As to why the use of Natrium, I guess it's technically correct since Natrium is how we get the Na from the original Latin designation. It's kind of odd that they would use that but I guess it's just a translation thing that will be changed later.
 

Are you still ordering livestock or are you going to wait it out?

  • I'm still ordering and not worried

    Votes: 249 32.6%
  • I'm ordering but being cautious about delivery

    Votes: 152 19.9%
  • No I am not ordering right now

    Votes: 328 42.9%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 35 4.6%

Online statistics

Members online
2,599
Guests online
6,849
Total visitors
9,448
Top