Is Mr. Clownfish Ok?

mOUs3y

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to reefing so please go easy on me. I bought an ORA clown from my LFS. After I put him in, I realized an hour later I should have QTed. He’s the only fish in the DT with nothing else aside from rocks and sand. A few days later I noticed this on his tail maybe 4-5 days in. Any idea what it is? He’s the eating now,
swims around only before bedtime, and always hangsout at the front right corner. He’s been hanging on on the bottom right now but moves up and down from time to time. Yesterday I noticed he stares at the corner with his face then does a quick 180 twitch. Sometimes he rinse and repeats but not all the time.

50D5D0FB-BA42-4928-9218-4E145F176D43.jpeg

Reefing Manny

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you only have 1 fish and no inverts or coral, then you can actually treat your fish for ich in your DT. Unless you‘re going to literally QT everything you buy for your tank (Fish, snails, crabs, corals, etc.) for 45 days, then it’s pointless to tear down your tank and basically start over when you have the ability to treat now. It’s extremely difficult to keep ich out of your tank, because of the fact that it can hitch a ride on literally everything you put in your tank, but once again It is completely up to you and how far you are willing to go.

Now, dont get me wrong, it’s smart to have a QT and to QT new fish additions. I QT any new additions to my DT, but the point that I‘m trying to make is not to stress yourself over it. Especially since your tank is new and you have no corals and inverts, you can easily treat your fish now.

Upvote 0

UnderseaOddities

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0