is my PH at 8.46 too high for sps ?

TCK Corals

acropora4u

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
2,133
Reaction score
1,013
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
here
1664912525875.png
 
www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com
www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

ScottB

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
Messages
7,343
Reaction score
11,489
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Fairfield County, CT
Dude what are you doing that your pH curve looks like that??
Given that he is running a CaRx dumping in 6.5 pH effluent, I am going to go with an un-calibrated pH probe.

ANYTHING is possible with enough intervention I guess. CO2 scrubber on a monster skimmer plus dosing a few liters of kalkwasser with a doser plus a steady drip of alkalinity would do it. But who -- besides me -- would be so silly?
:)
 

ScottB

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 5, 2018
Messages
7,343
Reaction score
11,489
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Fairfield County, CT
Keeping that range is fine for acros. Hard to fathom reaching/keeping those ranges while running a Calcium reactor. Calibrating your probe is a pain with APEX, but you might want to do that again.
 
Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED bar
OP
A

acropora4u

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
2,133
Reaction score
1,013
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
here
Keeping that range is fine for acros. Hard to fathom reaching/keeping those ranges while running a Calcium reactor. Calibrating your probe is a pain with APEX, but you might want to do that again.
I run a kalk reactor and co2 scrubber as well. As long as I clean and change the media in both the kalk reactor and co2 scrubber PH stays high
 

Smite

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Oct 17, 2015
Messages
2,476
Reaction score
3,186
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Garden Grove
Is that a new change? Wondering how growth is looking in that range, I'd imagine pretty dang fast. I've started to run kalkwasser in combo with my calcium reactor. I've seen a nice little boost about .2. I'm going slow but looking forward to what I get at a full concentrated solution. I was blowing through scrubber media and it got too costly.
 
OP
A

acropora4u

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
2,133
Reaction score
1,013
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
here
Is that a new change? Wondering how growth is looking in that range, I'd imagine pretty dang fast. I've started to run kalkwasser in combo with my calcium reactor. I've seen a nice little boost about .2. I'm going slow but looking forward to what I get at a full concentrated solution. I was blowing through scrubber media and it got too costly.
yes, i have only had this high PH since adding kalk reactor.. let me know how your sps react , mine so far look great as far as PE goes
 
Nutramar Foods

Roli's Reef Ranch

Active Member
Review score
+1 /0 /-1
View Badges
Joined
Jul 25, 2020
Messages
464
Reaction score
509
Review score
+1 /0 /-1
Location
Denver
You're fine. I've run higher w/o problems. Don't listen to naysayers on the salinity either. I've run up to 38.5 ppt without issues and got better coloration (BattleCorals does this), but usually run between 36 -37 ppt.
 
www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com
OP
A

acropora4u

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
2,133
Reaction score
1,013
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
here
Apex salinity is like the most in-accurate thing it tests. I dont even pay attention to it because it spikes up and down like a mountain range.
yes correct... i use a refractoneter and a hanna to check salinity ...its always 1.026
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

MichaelReefer

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Aug 13, 2019
Messages
2,361
Reaction score
2,343
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Roseville
First World problem - I wish that I have this same "problem" with higher pH! :) I run a CaRx so I counter with kalk in ATO, CO2 scrubber thru air pump (need to feed via skimmer this weekend), and open the windows/door often when I'm home. However, my peak is only 8.1.
Right? Even with a scrubber and Kalk Stirrer I can barely get to 8.3 lol
 

bakbay

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Sep 1, 2022
Messages
112
Reaction score
144
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Newport Beach
Right? Even with a scrubber and Kalk Stirrer I can barely get to 8.3 lol
Yup — at some point, I’m going to stop chasing this pH unicorn but hey — it’s a challenge and fun! My low is 7.86 at night, not good. I run Alk between 8.5-9.5 and currently it’s a little on the low side.
 

Attachments

  • A859AE21-114F-4BC9-8FD6-FD04AE7C9805.png
    A859AE21-114F-4BC9-8FD6-FD04AE7C9805.png
    114.4 KB · Views: 5
World Wide Corals
TCK Corals

Does it matter to you whether your fish are captive-bred or wild caught?

  • I only buy captive bred fish.

    Votes: 97 14.7%
  • It matters, but I will buy either captive-bred or wild-caught.

    Votes: 464 70.1%
  • I think wild-caught fish are the better option.

    Votes: 16 2.4%
  • I don’t care where the fish were bred.

    Votes: 85 12.8%
Tunze
Top