Its not much.. I'm giving it a shot! DIY 80g reef (kinda)

noahrhuskey

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greetings!

Photo Apr 26, 1 29 52 PM.jpg

Photo Apr 26, 1 30 03 PM.jpg

Photo Apr 26, 1 30 20 PM.jpg
Photo Apr 26, 1 30 37 PM.jpg
Photo Apr 26, 1 30 52 PM.jpg
Photo Apr 26, 1 31 17 PM.jpg
Photo Apr 26, 1 31 37 PM.jpg
Photo Apr 26, 1 31 58 PM.jpg
Photo Apr 26, 1 32 14 PM.jpg

Photo Apr 26, 1 32 29 PM.jpg

Photo Apr 26, 1 56 27 PM.jpg

Hello, I'm new to reefing and wanted to post a thread on my tank.

From the title you can see it's not much but I'm a loving this new hobby. Due to the whole covid 19 thing I have been out of work from Disney. Without working my usual 6-7 day work shifts I'm going a little crazy. I have had freshwater tanks my whole life and even have a 55g in my current house. I wanted to do something a little different to work my brain out instead of sitting in my house in depression. So after about a month and a half this is what I'm currently sitting with.

Specs:
Tank- 80g (5'x20"x14'')
Sump - 29g (30"x12"x18") Using around 14g
Return Pump- Jebao MDC-3500 (flow set to 85)
Skimmer- Aquatop xyclone
Filtration- 15inch Felt Filter Sock
Lighting- (2) AI PrimeHD reef (third on its way in mail)
Reactor- BRS Carbon/GFO single reactor (only using carbon rn) with Vivosun 800gph pump
Dosing- Jebao Doser 3.4 (ME Coral 2 part alk,cal)
Power Head- SunSun JVP wavemakers (cheep from amazon till i can save up for couple Nero5)

Parameters:
Po4- 0
Ca2 - 400
Ph- 8.2
Kh- 8.5
Nh3/4- 0
No2- 0
No3- 2
Temp- 77.6F
Sal- 1.024

Lighting scheduled:
Photo Apr 26, 4 03 18 PM.png

Photo Apr 26, 4 03 31 PM.png

Photo Apr 26, 4 03 52 PM.png

Again I'm new to salt water and reef life so if my parameters aren't the best right now i would love to hear feedback.