Kalk and Avast Marine Kalk Stirrer

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

justingraham

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello

I have an Avast Marine Kalk Stirrer dosing one gallon of water everyday.
On your new kalk bag it says (I believe)to add 1 teaspoon for a gallon of water
On Avast marine it says to add 1 cup every two weeks

Since I have never used Kalk before and I do not want to overdose it what is your recommendation

Thanks

Justin

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello

I have an Avast Marine Kalk Stirrer dosing one gallon of water everyday.
On your new kalk bag it says (I believe)to add 1 teaspoon for a gallon of water
On Avast marine it says to add 1 cup every two weeks

Since I have never used Kalk before and I do not want to overdose it what is your recommendation

Thanks

Justin
Both recommendations are correct based on usage. 1 tsp per gallon will make fully saturated kalkwasser. This would be if you were going to mix up one batch for use in an ATO or dosing container.

In a Kalk stirrer you load a large amount of kalk and then add fresh RODI which gets stirred to saturated it and is added to the system. They are estimating that after 2 weeks of using it this way the kalk will all be used and it should be replaced. That is a large amount of saturated kalk to add, but by constantly mixing you will also lose more of the powder to precipitates.

Mastiffsrule

Where ever you go, there you are, so be nice 2 you
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have the stirrer being fed by my Tunze ATO. I usually load 1/2 to a cup of kalk every 2 to 3 weeks depending on use. I don’t have a lot of evaporation since I use lids.