LED Lighting size

Discussion in 'New to Saltwater & Reef Aquariums? Post Here' started by Neo Jeo, Dec 6, 2017 at 9:01 PM.

1. Neo Jeo

Neo Jeo Well-Known Member

Hello!

I'm new to this and this is my first post so here we go!

I have been looking into lighting for my 90g tank that I will be getting. I have narrowed it down to something called black boxes from ebay lol or a Photon 32-v2.

Now my main question is. My tank will be 48" long will a 32" light system work well on it? That will be 8" of each side it will have to hit or do I get a 48" light? I don't like the fact that the light floods out of the sides. On the right side I have a TV and the left I have a parrot. I dont want ether to be flooded with extra lights but I want my corals to get all the light they need. Will a 32" be enough or will it not look good/work well with the corals?

What are your thoughts?

Thank You

Big G and Adele like this.
    Tags:

2. Adele

Adele Active Member

Not sure about the lights you mentioned but I run 2 Kessil A360 tuna blues and love them. They spread nicely over my 4’ 90 Gal.
    What kind of parrot?

Big G likes this.
  3. sbash

sbash Not Just a Potato R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

It really depends on the fixture. I have an AquaticLife XS-UV Reef 34" on my 90 gallon and it is fine coverage, not great, but fine - it's not like I am going to put corals in the bottom corners anyway, lol. It would work well on a shorter (shorter height, not length) tank. I am generalizing here, but the GOOD LED fixtures (like the photon or the aquatic life) use cree LEDs which are naturally around 140° spread; however, the manufacturers go and put lenses on them (some times 45° or 90°) so the coverage actually lowers (but the intensity improves slightly).

So, if I were to replace the 34", I would either use unlensed blackbox (16", I have four on my 220 and it's perfect) or use a longer fixture (48" if I had to, but 42ish would probably be fine if they exist, lol)