LF video on removing eggs from Bangaii male

jjencek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been breeding Bangaii for about 10 months. The male has been a perfect father taking care of each generation until now. He ate the whole family the day it was due. Poor guy could not resist.

I would like to try to remove the eggs of the next coming generation to give him more time to eat before starting a new family again. I also plan to try to tumble them without him.

I am somewhat concerned about removing the eggs from his mouth. Are there any videos on how to do it safely?

mort

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You say he ate the young the day they were due so potentially it's a one off and he just reached the point where his hunger kicks in. I'd suggest it's easier to give him a rest from carrying eggs and feed him up so that his reserves are enough to carry them full term.
If not then you can just leave it until near the due date and quite often they spit them out in a net if caught. I've never tried stripping them out of their mouths but they have always spat them easily when I've needed to intervene.

ThRoewer

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Never seen a video of it but there are pictures in the Banggai project book. There they show it being done with a bent paperclip.

OP
OP
jjencek

jjencek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From what I understand this is very similar to African Cichlids. My gf uses a bread tie twisted with a loop at the end to gently lift the mouth open.
There are tons of videos African Cichlids. I will try it and report on my results. Now I need to figure out when to do it. The usual time my male cardinal holds them is one month. Maybe I should remove them after two weeks?

OP
OP
jjencek

jjencek

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0