Life after ick/marine velvet

Jennie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am fairly new to this hobby and lost all my fish because I didn't do my research before hand. That being said I have learned my lesson and getting ready to think about what fish to get for my Red Sea 250. The only fish that did survive is a transparent goby that has been treated and doing well. My 76 days are up the second weekend in October. So if I start slowly what would all of you suggest getting as a good colorful group of fish? And yes, I will be quarantining every new addition for 5-6 weeks.

jeff williams

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I love the look of angels too, a little gun shy because one of the fish was a flame angel and I think he died because of the copper treatment.
When you qt your new fish if you have cu sensetive fish like Angels they say chelated cu is a better choice than cupramine but I've used cupramine on a coral beauty what I do is bring the cu levels up over 5-7 days instead of 72 hrs it's a lot easier on the fish.

Maritimer

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are quite a few wrasses that'd work - some of the smaller fairies and most of the flashers included. Lots of goby options, royal grammas, midas and other blennies . . .

Using copper with sensitive fishes like angels and wrasses, chelated seems to work better than ionic, and bringing copper levels up slowly helps a _lot_. Plenty of folks have used copper with flame angels - including myself.

~Bruce

OP
OP
Jennie

Jennie

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
There are quite a few wrasses that'd work - some of the smaller fairies and most of the flashers included. Lots of goby options, royal grammas, midas and other blennies . . .