Live Rock / Mixing Salt Water Question

Jobu183

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey All-

Newbie here. Recieved a Biocube 32 for christmas and very much looking forward to getting into the hobby.

Question I have-> how long will live rock stay 'live' outside of salt water.

Isssue-> I jumped the gun a bit and bought Live Rock at the LFS today (~16lbs) with my RoDI getting delivered the same day. I told them that I would have the live rock in the tank in ~24-48 hours and if the live rock would last. They gave me a styrofoam cooler and laid some wet newspaper over it the live rock and said it would be fine for that amount of time.

Didn't realize that when you mix your own salt water, the mixing process is ~24 hours which is probably going to put me over the 48 hours or so until the live rock is in the tank.

My current thought is to mix the salt water in an empty tank for 24 hours and then add my live rock and live sand after the water mixes.

WIll the live rock make it with just newspaper? is there anything else I can do to prolong it?

Thanks!

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Saltwater is good-to-go within 15-20 minutes. I'd get the water in the tank and the live rock in the tank ASAP (if it's still viable). Live rock isn't very common in the prairies so I couldn't tell you if styrofoam/wet newspaper will suffice for 2 days (my thinking is probably not, but I could certainly be wrong). My only experience is with actual rock from my tank; I've never left it exposed (out of water) for more than 5-10 minutes.

OP
OP
Jobu183

Jobu183

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you very much for your help. Appreciate it. Happy to know the mixing doesn't take as long as another article said.

Rmckoy

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Read the instructions on the salt container
Most will tell you how long it needs to mix for