Loki's Nem tank

Loki

My skimmate doesn't stink
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just drilled my nem tank and installed an overflow and a sump. It is a 28 gallon bowfront from marineland and it now has a 10g sump. Since I now have an overflow I have something else to be concerned with for the nems. The teeth!! So I am wondering what is the best way to put this stuff (picture below) in front of the teeth to prevent my nems from getting chopped up? I have two sheets of it and intend to put the other in front of the drain.

a6934819-16f7-b1b9.jpg

a6934819-1705-9180.jpg

For lighting I have a brand new 4 bulb TEK T5 fixture.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Loki

Loki

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Now for question number two. This is my first time working with tubing as I have always used PVC on my other tanks. Do you guys have any advice foraging the drain quiet? It is one 3/4" hole for a drain and one 1/2" return. I am using a mag 3 for my return pump.

I plan to cut the tubing so that it is just above the water level (like I would do with PVC), but I am concerned that it will have a tendency to move around and may even come out of the sump. Any ideas on how to secure the hose?

a6934818-1812-6ca7.jpg

bige

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You could use one of the tubing magnetic kits. They hold tubing and are magnetic. Personally, I don't think your nems will wonder to your over flow. I know it happens but not that often.

OP
OP
Loki

Loki

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had it happen last night :(. It was split in three places. It's still alive but it's not looking like a good outcome for the guy.

I will look into those magnets. Thanks!

Anyone else?

ritter6788

Coral Fraud Private Eye
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Temporarily you can stick a short length of airline tubing in the drain and it should stop. I have three in the drains of my frag tank. Lol

OP
OP
Loki