Looking for advice on aquascape

Canaan Gary

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
I have an 8 month 32 gal biocube and I am still not happy with my aquascape. The current scape is attached to the thread. I definitely want two arches and an island for a zoa garden. I feel like its too bulky at the top but I may be wrong. I would love all the feedback I can get. Thanks!
tempImagenZ1jzK.jpg
 
Fritz

BroccoliFarmer

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
4,509
Reaction score
7,771
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Medford
I hate giving advice on such a subjective subject; however, since this remains unanswered.. I will oblige. Sorry if this is not sunshine and rainbows..giving my honest assessment.

  1. Bottom with the arches looks great.
  2. I am not a fan of the top for three reasons.
    1. Looks simplistically stacked and unstabled
    2. Lacks caves. and an interesting feature.
    3. You are loosing a lot of your coral surface area to the stacking. by fanning it out a little you can get more surface area to attach your corals.
  3. Look like you have a big unused spot in the bottom right back. Not only will you not see anything back there at this angle..but will most likely be dead space.

Outside of this..aquascape is very personal. If you are happy..who cares what i think?
 
OP
C

Canaan Gary

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
I hate giving advice on such a subjective subject; however, since this remains unanswered.. I will oblige. Sorry if this is not sunshine and rainbows..giving my honest assessment.

  1. Bottom with the arches looks great.
  2. I am not a fan of the top for three reasons.
    1. Looks simplistically stacked and unstabled
    2. Lacks caves. and an interesting feature.
    3. You are loosing a lot of your coral surface area to the stacking. by fanning it out a little you can get more surface area to attach your corals.
  3. Look like you have a big unused spot in the bottom right back. Not only will you not see anything back there at this angle..but will most likely be dead space.

Outside of this..aquascape is very personal. If you are happy..who cares what i think?
Hey! Thank you! I actually agree. I’m not happy with the top but I’m not quite sure what to do with it or how to change it. My rose BTA finally settled in the front of the tank so I wanted to scape it to where he’s still in the front. I’m just not quite sure to do with the top pieces. Can you show me an example of what you mean by fanning it out and adding caves? I was also gonna put a zoa island in the bottom front right so that’s why it’s empty rn. Thanks
 
Aquarium Specialty - dry goods & marine livestock

BroccoliFarmer

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
4,509
Reaction score
7,771
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Medford
Hey! Thank you! I actually agree. I’m not happy with the top but I’m not quite sure what to do with it or how to change it. My rose BTA finally settled in the front of the tank so I wanted to scape it to where he’s still in the front. I’m just not quite sure to do with the top pieces. Can you show me an example of what you mean by fanning it out and adding caves? I was also gonna put a zoa island in the bottom front right so that’s why it’s empty rn. Thanks
Bottom BACK right..by intake
 
REEFTIDE
OP
C

Canaan Gary

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
Bottom BACK right..by intake
So what should I do to fix that? Just open it up more. I just messed with it for about an hour and I literally can’t find anything that I’m happy with and I don’t wanna tick off the corals any more than I have. This is what I have right now but I’m afraid I’m running into the same problem as before;(
D123E283-14E1-4375-9D34-C4BCF2EAE015.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • 265D873B-FEC4-4DC3-8B22-68B55C48AA85.jpeg
    265D873B-FEC4-4DC3-8B22-68B55C48AA85.jpeg
    141.6 KB · Views: 13

BroccoliFarmer

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Jan 13, 2021
Messages
4,509
Reaction score
7,771
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Medford
Maybe a shelfing piece of marco from your LFS thrown in there. I agree, there is only so many ways you can juggle things around. When you hit that wall, i see one of two options...add another piece of rock to change the puzzle...take one of your extisting rocks and split it with a hammer and chisel.
 

2Wheelsonly

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
1,284
Reaction score
1,706
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Floyds Knobs, IN
  1. You are loosing a lot of your coral surface area to the stacking. by fanning it out a little you can get more surface area to attach your corals.

This is really good advice, I feel a lot of folks feel they need to stack high and end up creating so much unused space because they create too much vertical surface. Always look at your tank from the top down as if you were a light. If you can't see it then neither can the light.

You don't want to end up with a cool stack of rocks and a small patch of corals up top. At the end of the day we are growing corals, not rocks. create steps rather than peaks.
 
OP
C

Canaan Gary

New Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Dec 4, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
United States
This is really good advice, I feel a lot of folks feel they need to stack high and end up creating so much unused space because they create too much vertical surface. Always look at your tank from the top down as if you were a light. If you can't see it then neither can the light.

You don't want to end up with a cool stack of rocks and a small patch of corals up top. At the end of the day we are growing corals, not rocks. create steps rather than peaks.
Thank you! I understand that. How do you get some type of height without stacking? Right now, I have a lot of surface area for corals. I think I will break one of my rocks so I can get height for my sps but still leave room for corals.
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

BoneDoc

Active Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Apr 24, 2021
Messages
286
Reaction score
185
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Dayton, OH
So what should I do to fix that? Just open it up more. I just messed with it for about an hour and I literally can’t find anything that I’m happy with and I don’t wanna tick off the corals any more than I have. This is what I have right now but I’m afraid I’m running into the same problem as before;(
D123E283-14E1-4375-9D34-C4BCF2EAE015.jpeg
With what you have this is pretty good. Just let the corals grow into it
 

2Wheelsonly

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
1,284
Reaction score
1,706
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Floyds Knobs, IN
Thank you! I understand that. How do you get some type of height without stacking? Right now, I have a lot of surface area for corals. I think I will break one of my rocks so I can get height for my sps but still leave room for corals.
Wide bottom and stack like steps
 
AquaCave Logo Banner

Have you ever torn down a tank over an issue you couldn't seem to beat?

  • Yes! I have. (Tell us about what issue you faced in the thread.)

    Votes: 183 24.6%
  • No. Thankfully, I haven't.

    Votes: 383 51.5%
  • Nope, but it almost happened. (Share your experience in the thread.)

    Votes: 55 7.4%
  • Not yet, but I'm almost there. (Tell us what you're dealing with.)

    Votes: 61 8.2%
  • If you reef long enough, this will eventually happen to you.

    Votes: 47 6.3%
  • Other

    Votes: 14 1.9%
Aquariums Wholesale Live coral auctions every week
Top