Losing My Fish to Velvet... Please HELP

SaltyDawgie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have had my tank for almost 2 1/2 years with very few easily resolved problems ... until now. I have lost 4 fish in the last week to velvet (a pearlscale butterfly, a lemon peel angelfish, a Singapore angelfish and a royal dottyback).

My remaining fish (2 clownfish, 2 cardinals, 1 tomini tang, 1 diamond goby and 1 Midas Blenny) are in a QT and I am dosing with copper (cupramine). I have never used copper before and am having trouble getting my level up to the therapeutic level.

My questions are:
1. How often should I keep adding copper until I reach the therapeutic level?
2. What is the best therapeutic level? My LFS told me between 1.0-2.0 but the cupramine says 0.5.
3. I am having to do super frequent water changes To keep my ammonia levels down... QT is not well cycled, and it is a 20 gallon tank with 7 fish in it. So... when I do a 50% water change, how much and how often do I need to re-add copper to get my level up?
4. Any other suggestions? All help appreciated... my Midas Blenny is probably not going to make it...and my Tang, one of the Cardinals and one of the Clowns are not looking good. I am sick over this...wake up at night worrying about them and checking their status.

Please Help!

SPR1968

No, it wasn’t expensive dear....
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I can’t help with the specific issue but this might help in the meantime

hds4216

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You need to get a copper test kit and test regularly. Impossible to keep it at therapeutic levels without a test kit imo.

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, my general rule of thumb is (and I know this is tough to hear) once you have begun losing fish to a protozoal infections, it is very difficult to stop the disease soon enough to stop additional fish loss.