Lost a couple of fish in new tank build.

OP
OP
stephenwjr

stephenwjr

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What fish do you currently have in the tank?

I'm not an expert by any means, but from everything I’ve learned and read so far, I agree with the others that there are zero species of tangs that will be appropriate for a 36 gallon tank, especially if it’s a corner tank. They simply need a lot more swimming room than that and will be perpetually stressed and aggressive if put in a tank that size.

It’s not gospel, but a good resource to learn approximate tank size requirements for fish is liveaquaria.com. If you browse their marine fish, you can see the minimum tank size required to keep each species healthy. They also have other handy information on there such as typical level of aggressiveness, and difficulty of caring for each species.

Good luck, and keep asking questions!
Current fish in my tank are a Maroon Clown and a yellow watchmen goby. I took all the fish to the lfs and started over when I added my light back in May. I agree a tang is not good for my tank. I will stock the tank with snails, crabs and whatever else will eat algae.

adittam

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Current fish in my tank are a Maroon Clown and a yellow watchmen goby. I took all the fish to the lfs and started over when I added my light back in May. I agree a tang is not good for my tank. I will stock the tank with snails, crabs and whatever else will eat algae.
As far as CUC goes, I can’t recommend trochus snails enough. They don’t get so big that they’re knocking stuff over, but they’re big enough that a handful can really keep your algae in check.