Lucidblue's Waterbox Frag 85.3 Mixed Reef - 1st Tank

lucidblue

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm doing this build thread a bit in reverse, I started the setup on 7/23, but needed to focus since this is my first time with saltwater. I've always wanted a saltwater aquarium, but didn't feel settled in one place long enough to make it worth the effort. Then I started scuba diving and decided I'd rather spend my money swimming on the reef. Diving hasn't been an option lately for various reasons, so I decided it's reef tank time. I started researching a month or so ago and am so thankful for the BRS 5 Minute and Ultimate Beginner Guides and all their other content, I don't know where I would be without all their information so readily available.

I'm going to keep this first post a list of equipment and plans that can be updated over time and do separate step by step progress posts.

Equipment to Start
  • Tank: Waterbox Frag 85.3 - 54g DT / 30g sump (includes 4.5g ATO reservoir) / DT Dimensions 35.4" L × 23.6" D × 16.1" H
  • Return Pump: Sicce Syncra SDC 6.0
  • Heaters: (2) BRS 100W Titanium Heaters w/ Helio Universal Aquarium Heater Controllers
  • Lights: (2) AI Prime 16HD LEDs w/ 12" Flex Arms
  • Powerheads: (2) ReefBreeders Reef Power RP-M V2 -- this is a temporary solution until the AI Nero 3 is back in stock somewhere. NOTE: I can only run one of these RP-M's at a time at the lowest setting 30% because they seem to be way too powerful for my tank.
  • RO/DI System: BRS 4 Stage Plus 75GPD - only making RODI water for the short term and buying saltwater from LFS
  • Red Sea DIY Mesh Lid
  • Test Kit: Red Sea Marine Care
Equipment Still Needed - Short Term
  • ATO: deciding between Tunze Osmolater 3155 and Avast Marine ATO
  • Auto Feeder for vacation
  • Testing: various Hanna checkers
  • Powerheads: as mentioned above waiting on AI Nero 3 to be available again
  • Protein Skimmer: need to start this research