Making the tough call (fish v. coral)...

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)

uniquecorals

UniqueCorals
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As a coral vendor, I receive tons of phone calls from fellow reefers about their tanks, their corals, their successes/failures/ideas…Lots and lots of questions. I love it. Sometimes I can’t believe I do this for a living...I mean, at 11:00 AM, I should be talking about more grown up stuff, right? Nah.

Craziness.

Anyways, one of the most common questions I receive from fellow hobbyists is what I think about them taking the risk keeping a certain type of fish in their reef tank. Usually, it’s that beloved Angelfish, ultra-cool Butterflyfish, or cute Blenny that the customer saw on Diver's Den (love you, Kevin!) or the LFS and simply cannot resist! The question is always the same…”Can I keep _______ with my Acan collection?" My first thought is, “How the heck would I know?” I mean, it kind of puts me in a weird position of giving a reefer “permission” to put his insanely expensive coral collection at risk. I just had this discussion with a customer yesterday, so it’s fresh in my mind. And of course, as a fish lover, I have my opinions on the subject. However, as a coral vendor, I have mixed feelings. And I don’t want people thinking that I say “Go for it” every time because “I can sell ‘em more corals when she rips up his collection!”…So, this simple question becomes quite a quandary! I deal with this all the time. It’s the fine art of balancing what you want to keep with what you currently keep- and it requires planning, risk-taking, and sometimes, an outright gut-check as an aquarist.

2012-07-24 06.23.23.jpg

"...or that 'Superman Millie?' What to do?"