marine snow is it a good thing or not

gonewild34

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
was thinking about using marine snow just woundering if it is a good product or not i have mostly lps but some sps

jonbar1

Growing Out
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've considered getting some to try on a softie tank. I doubt LPS would get much out of it, but the SPS might. BUMP for someone with more experience.

Pkunk35

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been trying to figure out for a very long time what Marine Snow actually is...by two little fishies, right?

Personally I have no experience, but I've always been suspect of the product and these days there's so many coral foods that are legitimate out there, I doubt I would ever use it.

I believe I read somewhere that it is basically detritus, but that is totally unconfirmed I can't even remember where I read that.

ritter6788

Coral Fraud Private Eye
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The term Marine Snow could be two different things. Basically in the ocean marine snow is referring to the detritus, debris, particles etc. that are always raining down in the ocean. You don't want that in your tank.

There is a product called Marine Snow made by Two Little Fishies that is a mixture of zooplankton for coral food.

Pkunk35

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's the ingredient list, just looked it up:

Deionized Water, Phytoplankton, (Nannochloropsis, Tetraselmis, Isochrysis, Spirulina, Schyzochitrium, Dried Seaweed Meal, Zooplankton, Citric Acid

I'm still suspect of this product, but yes Ritter is correct in saying it is a zoo/phyto plankton product.

tinctorus

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You would be better off using live phyto and pods as opposed to a gimmcky product like the "marine snow"