Mike Werner's 200 gal+ mixed reef done simple

mike werner

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I finally decided it was time to do my first of three build threads.First let me say I stopped paying attention in class in 8th grade so my grammer and punctuation will show.You will probably see more pics than paragraphs for that reason and the fact that I hate typing and r2r's love pics.I'm not very good at pics but i'm going to try and learn through out this thread.
This tank was started around 2011.I had it built by Glass Cages on an impulse.It is a 5 footer with a single overflow in the corner.I had starfire glass put only in the front sense I couldn't find much info on it's value in viewing at the time.I'm still not sure if it's clearer than standard glass but I got it.
i'm an old school guy and not very tech savey so equipment is pretty basic.No apex for this guy. Most of it was purchased so long ago that I don't even remember some of the brands. It has a 40 gal. sump powered by a dart snapper external pump.It's plumed with gate valves that feed the 6 returns,Skims 162 external skimmer and a 50 watt sterilizer.I have the original 150 gyre and a tunze something or other pump pushing water at a constant flow.The lighting has changed several times over the years for different reasons I won't bore you with.Started with all t5's went to the now defunct company, build my led's then to vertex aquastik Illumina and most recently 5 marsaqua 165's.I really like the spread and color these lights produce and the corals grow well under them.
The substrate has changed over the years from crushed coral to white sand to finally a thin rubble bottom.i love the look of a rubble bottom sense it turns purple with the good algae.