Mixing station to DT auto water change possible?

CincyReefer07

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, I’m extremely new to tanks with sumps and saltwater mixing stations. I’ve only had a 29g mixed reef tank and my current 75g mixed reef tank that has only ever had hob equipment. But now I’m in the process of getting my equipment bought and set up for my new drilled 310 gallon tank that is being built. I bought an IceCap 48XL sump for it which will be on the other side of the wall where the main DT will be. In the room with the sump will also be a pair of 65 gallon vertical water storage containers to build my saltwater mixing station.
I want this tank to be as well done and thought out as possible even though I’m new to Sumps, new to mixing stations, and new to tanks of this size. I’d love to automate as much as I can to make maintenance a little less and a little easier if possible.

Is there a way to build, set up or buy an auto water change system that takes water straight from my 65 gallon saltwater container to either my DT or sump? There is a floor drain in the room with the sump and water containers so I figured i could run pvc pipe or hose tubing straight to the floor drain for the water that is drained out. I was thinking along the lines of a 4 to 5 gallon water change daily instead of larger water changes every weekend or every other weekend. The distance to either sump or DT tank is 25’ give or take a couple feet depending on how it’s routed with a few 90s in the run. Is this at all possible, has anyone done something like this? And if so how?
Would love to figure this out before I start plumbing my mixing station all together. I also want to have my mixing station plumbed so that I can also have it fill up buckets of fresh water or saltwater from either of the containers as I have another tank upstairs that I have to do the old school way of lugging buckets up for.
Thanks for any and all help!!