Moving tank and livestock

MonsterTaco

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First, I'm completely new to this. Never had a SW tank before but have been researching and learning for the past year and was planning to get my first tank going in the next 6 months or so. However, I came across a deal locally where someone is moving away and is selling their entire Red Sea Reefer 250 (54gal DT/11gal sump) setup - livestock, tank, stand, pumps, lights, rock, sand, etc. Livestock includes 2 Ocellaris Clowns, a Pistol Shrimp/Goby pair and some coral (no description and not a great picture). This seems to be a great starter tank and the fish included are already on my "must have" list. The seller is about a 30 minute drive from my house, 15 minutes from my work so I could easily make multiple trips if necessary.

Assuming I buy this, including the livestock, what is the best way to move and reestablish the tank and it's inhabitants? Should I house the fish in a separate tank until the DT is established for a few weeks? What about the corals? I've read bad things regarding reusing sand - should I scrap it and buy new (it's Fiji pink live sand)? Rinse and reuse? New water? Or do I somehow try to transfer water from the existing setup? I don't even know what other questions to ask... And speaking of, what questions should I be asking the seller?

Again, I am completely new and have no equipment. I know I'll need to get an RODI system, salt and a mixing station setup. I know I'll need testing kits. Maybe another tank if I need to house the fish outside of the DT. What else do I need immediately?

Is this even a good idea? If I (or more likely the fish) am better off to start without having the fish to care for immediately, please tell me that. The seller has everything listed separately, so I can wait until he/she sells off the livestock and just purchase the equipment. Thanks!

Ckdada

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0