Multiple dosing pumps with PCA9685

LeonTheLion

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

since my lighting control is working now i started with the dosing pumps.

Because i‘m an absolute noob the last time i fried my pi zero.
I read about back emf and wondered if there is a protection against it in the circuit from the guide?

Also i‘d like to connect 4 pumps and since i already have the PCA9685 can‘t i use this to generate multiple pwm signals?

Using some transistors to get the right voltage and using the L293D should work, right? If someone could point me into the right direction (e.g. what Transistor to use, how to handle the emf‘s from the motors etc.)

The peristaltic pumps i plan to use are 12V and 250-300mA.

Thanks in advance

attiland

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
PCA9685 has 16 PWM channels so you absolutely can use it. I drive 10 servos on it in my other project (trains)
I can’t answer you other question though.

attiland

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i found this guide for arduino: http://www.learningaboutelectronics...p-circuit-with-an-arduino-microcontroller.php

Instead of the arduino pwm output i would use the outputs from the pca9685.

Is there any benefit of using the
L293ds apart from being able to control direction?
You don’t need directions for pumps.

L293D H Bridge Driver
  • 4 drivers
  • 4.5V to 36V supply
  • 600mA Output Current
  • 1.2A peak output
  • DIP 16 pins
It has higher voltage range than PCA9685 and peak iOS higher too. Not sure what your motor requires. I have only done servos with it on Arduino so I hope someone will chip in with greater knowledge than mine.

OP
OP
LeonTheLion

LeonTheLion

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0