Mushrooms overtaking tank

ibanezgfx

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 6, 2012
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Dayton, OH
Well I have a 55g tank that I've got mushrooms overtaking. Not sure what kind but see the attached pic (sorry for the poor quality). Is this common? The Kenya tree is also overrunning but I am cutting that down as I feel is necessary.

nepupa7y.jpg


Any thoughts will be helpful. Guess I just want to know how to control it a bit better.
I have a Current Nova Extreme Pro T5 fixture 6x55 watt and no filtration. I've got a 75 I'm moving everything to once i finish my basement.

Thanks.
 
Fritz

TrishW

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 11, 2012
Messages
838
Reaction score
13
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
AlaBAMA
I have found that when I keep my nutrients to a minimum mushrooms do not multiply and some even die off. They like a water column that is not pristine.
 
Reef Chasers Aquaculture

goodtimes

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
1,538
Reaction score
971
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Northern Ohio
The lack of filtration is my guess as to why they are growing so well for you. When you get the 75 going add some filtration and maybe they spreading will slow down.
 

luisgo

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
409
Reaction score
770
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Puerto Rico
I have a lot of them! They will spread no matter what. The best way to control them is to keep them in just one area of the tank.
 
BRS

NanaReefer

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
7,196
Reaction score
1,612
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Upper Peninsula of Michigan
Oh wow I feel your pain! Have started several posts on this exact shroom issue. I've tried the Algae Vac, Majano Wand, Kalk Paste, all to no avail. This weekend I'm going to try a mj 600 power head and try sucking them out. Hopefully the pump will draw the shroom into the impeller, where they'll be siphoned out via the 30" of tubing into the waiting bucket.
3e4a6yny.jpg



Sent from my iPhone 4s via Tapatalk.
 

LunaticFringeInc

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Sep 24, 2013
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Location
Lewisville Texas
Yep, that's what I would do in a heart beat as the others here have suggested. I would hit the LFS's in the area up and see which ones are interested and then unload a lot of them for store credit. This is exactly how I financed a 125 gallon Reef Tank after starting out with just a humble 55 gallon tank without using any money out of pocket in a year when I first got into this hobby!
 
Zoanthids

Do you quarantine new coral before adding it to your reef tank?

  • YES always

    Votes: 89 16.3%
  • Sometimes depending (tell us why)

    Votes: 62 11.4%
  • NO never

    Votes: 379 69.5%
  • Other (please explain)

    Votes: 15 2.8%
Tropic Marin USA
Top