My 300 Gallon Freshwater Planted Tank Build

BMott

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don’t know if i will get bashed for a freshwater tank post, but I have been into freshwater for a long time and recent new to salt tanks. I got to know this website from a friend and have enjoyed learning about salt water and reef tanks so much, I recently took the plunge with a 32gallon biocube. So far so good, and can see that I have a large tank in my future.

I have shared some of my stories on my Facebook groups, but I thought there might be some freshwater people here that would love some of this journey. Just a little background, I am a civil engineer and been practicing engineering for over 25 years. I have a masters in water and wastewater treatment. So, I enjoy the water chemistry side of everything. Also, I love animals so the fish tank hobby fits me well. we have three dogs, a cat, 3,000 gallon koi pond, and a couple of tanks.

I am writing this story to share some the good decisions and bad... and what I had to do to fix them. It is ok to make mistakes as long as you learn from them. I hope this post helps someone out there.

A while back, we got rid of all of our tanks. We went into a local pet store and we saw a little nano shrimp tank and the wife says, I want a little tank for the counter in the kitchen. So, a year later and 1,000 dollars later, we have a cool shrimp tank. So, two things about me, I overthink everything, and I can’t do anything half way. If one is good, four is better.

I started looking for a larger tank and started doing my research on a planted tank. My great Idea was to do a planted community tank. I havent had a community tank in a while. So... let’s get a tank.