My birdsnest coral is not thriving

serez

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey I might be over reacting because I’m new to the hobby but please take a look at this sps frag I got. Below is the day after I got it. The first day it didn’t have these brown spots (closed up polyps) and looked fluffy.
The next day some polyps closed up.
5966D750-11F5-40D1-9344-F6F663E5297D.jpeg

a few days later it looked like this. I did catch my puffer fish nibble on it a little but it mostly leaves it alone because the flow is strong around it unless I turn the pump off for feeding.
B1B23757-E9D4-44F2-829E-08E9E307359C.jpeg

Then the next day it actually opened up a lot more but still doesn’t look fluffy like when I first added it to the tank.
3FDC3B33-7DF6-4E44-911B-074DF4EF9A7B.jpeg

And today I moved it to another spot for stronger flow and better light. I thought that’s why it wasn’t opening up. But due to the handling and everything, it closed up completely
3FD978C9-54FB-43F7-AE52-44D7D344F33A.png

Should I be worried??? My euphyllia torches and hammers are doing very well, leather coral grew to twice it’s original size in the past 3 weeks
Water quality is immaculate as far as I know.
Kh is not 100% stable (I’m still tweaking the dosing pump) but within the 9.0-9.4 range. I’m dosing coralline gro
Salinity 1.025 no swings
Calcium 425 after weekly water change
Mag 1425
I’m not dosing calcium or magnesium because I only have 2 lps and one sps atm there is no significant use of these elements
No ammonia, nitrate < 2 with Salifert test kit
I’m also running gfo filter media so I have no detectable phosphate
In my media basket there is also carbon media
My tank is 20 gallons. I keep the temperature at 25 C
Hope I provided enough info.

tbrown

Nominated Cronie Intern - Might be failing?
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0