My dream tank - Evo 13.5 and the exploits of a fishaholic

mdpitts

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all, I'm new to the forums and thought that it might be fun to document the maturation and progress of my new 13.5 Evo.

This is my second saltwater tank, and my who knows how many fish tank in general. I was a big freshwater hobbyist before my husband convinced me to start a small saltwater tank and bribed me with the purchase of the tank itself on a BlackFriday deal a year ago. Safe to say, I'm hooked. I went through the normal ups and downs of a first tank, but I'm a researching fanatic, so my website history was filled with an endless array of how to's, size recommendations for critters, compatibility etc. The first tank came under the only real problem to hit it, a massive algae growth spike several months ago, and after testing, adjusting, and scratching my head, turns out my LFS was selling me ''RO/DI' water with a TDS of 200+, That tank is still a loving work in progress, but the clowns, royal gramma, CUC and small selection of corals are all doing just fine.

On to the new though! I cut back on my number of overall tanks in the house in order to purchase an evo 13.5 AOI system after many indecisive days of reading reviews and debating how large or small I wanted to go. I enjoy small tanks, and even the first marine cube is only 15 gallons. Even as I'm sitting here writing this, I'm looking at the 3 gallon desktop planted freshwater tank next to my computer and considering if I want to transform it into a pico reef tank, but that's another story. I bought the tank, spent hours leveling it and checking for leaks, and then began my new adventure.

I purchased a small RODI filter for myself after the above incident at the LFS, and have been mixing my own water ever since, so I used dead sand and dry rock with a bottle of bacterial starter to get the tank started initially. Good old day one cloudy water.

Day1.jpg