My first solo tank, 180 gallon build thread

OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
Last update for the night. I did a home made recalibration job on the apex probe and got it close enough that it would at least stop sending alerts. I also started working with the canopy so I can get a material list together. I snapped a quick pic while it was above the tank for some measurements. It only has the T5s in it at the moment, I haven't mounted the Hydras yet.
20190628_204047.jpg
 

Mastiffsrule

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Feb 10, 2019
Messages
3,101
Reaction score
11,709
Location
Charlotte
So my apex is still stuck and I can't figure out why. I calibrated the probe and everything went fine but it's still reading around 29. Any ideas? Should I just go to the neptune forums and bug them? Lol
Get rid of that apex thing. Real reefers taste the water for salinity. :)

Now waters in how bout a fts?

Edit, and I learned how thread work today. Disregard
 
OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
I found these cheap led light strips on amazon for $17 and I can actually see inside the stand now!
20190630_175735.jpg
20190630_175748.jpg


Don't mind the mess of cords, I should have that cleaned up soon too.
 
OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
Anyone following along want to help me out? I dosed ammonia to 4ppm and added my bio-spira om Saturday morning. As of this morning I had 0 ammonia, my nitrite was around 2ppm and my nitrate was around 10ppm. Does this seem to be on target as far as progression goes? My nitrite hasn't changed in a couple days. Is there anything else I need to do? As far as I know I just need to let it keep going on it's own.
 
Cultivated Reef

mta_morrow

It costs HOW much?!!!
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
5,670
Reaction score
22,425
Location
Hilton Head
Anyone following along want to help me out? I dosed ammonia to 4ppm and added my bio-spira om Saturday morning. As of this morning I had 0 ammonia, my nitrite was around 2ppm and my nitrate was around 10ppm. Does this seem to be on target as far as progression goes? My nitrite hasn't changed in a couple days. Is there anything else I need to do? As far as I know I just need to let it keep going on it's own.
It’s all heading the right way.

I only dose to 2 ppm ammonia when starting FWIW.

I dose to 2 ppm, let it go to zero 2 times and then do my first WC and add my first fish.
 
OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
It’s all heading the right way.

I only dose to 2 ppm ammonia when starting FWIW.

I dose to 2 ppm, let it go to zero 2 times and then do my first WC and add my first fish.
Gotcha, I probably should have went with less but everything I read was different so I just went with 4. When the nitrite is cleared up I'm just dosing to 1 and if it's gone in 24 hours I'll do the wc and start adding.
 

mta_morrow

It costs HOW much?!!!
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
5,670
Reaction score
22,425
Location
Hilton Head
Gotcha, I probably should have went with less but everything I read was different so I just went with 4. When the nitrite is cleared up I'm just dosing to 1 and if it's gone in 24 hours I'll do the wc and start adding.
That’s good!

Looking forward to what all your putting in!
 

Waynerock

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Jul 4, 2018
Messages
788
Reaction score
1,286
I found these cheap led light strips on amazon for $17 and I can actually see inside the stand now!
20190630_175735.jpg
20190630_175748.jpg


Don't mind the mess of cords, I should have that cleaned up soon too.
God your skimmer and sump are so clean looking! I mean your set up is tight but I remember before I used my stuff and how clean everything looked before the funk starts hitting it. Love the room you have under there. I have to play Tetris in my sump just to get the skimmer out to clean it. Looks very nice
 
Corals.com
OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
Well, ammonia is getting cleaned in 24 hours now but my nitrites are not. Nitrates are starting to get pretty high too. I'm not sure if I should dose more ammonia today or just do a wc. What do you think @mta_morrow ?
15622422284296099354845825854914.jpg
 

mta_morrow

It costs HOW much?!!!
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
5,670
Reaction score
22,425
Location
Hilton Head
I would do your water change. Don’t do ammonia again.

I would expect you nitrites to be zero with 24 hours of your ammonia being zero.

Then as soon as nitrites hit zero, add your first fish!
 

mta_morrow

It costs HOW much?!!!
View Badges
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Messages
5,670
Reaction score
22,425
Location
Hilton Head
You’ve cycled thru some serious ammonia dosing, so you have a good population of bacteria.

I have done my tanks exactly how you did this one.
 
OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
Thanks! Water change will happen as soon as I get back to the house. How much of a change do you recommend?
 
OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
Canopy is complete and I did a 50 gallon water change. Apex is giving me an alert saying salinity is low though so I probably got some bubbles in the probe. I'll post some pics shortly, just need to get some decent light in the room.
 
OP
T

TARHEEL78

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
504
Reaction score
514
Here are a few pictures with the canopy on(opened and closed) and no ambient light.
20190703_202712.jpg
20190703_214515.jpg


If it looks odd there's a reason. The T5s are off in the pics and my middle hydra was still on my QT tank at the time. It's actually still on it but I'm going to move it over soon. I have some corals in there that are growing on rocks that I don't want to transfer to the big tank. I guess I'm going to have to chisel the rock around the corals to be bald to move them over.
 
Last edited:

Do you use Instagram for reefing stuff? What’s your handle?

  • Yes I follow people

    Votes: 58 21.2%
  • Yes and I post reefing content

    Votes: 56 20.5%
  • No IG isn’t for me

    Votes: 144 52.7%
  • What is IG?

    Votes: 15 5.5%

Online statistics

Members online
1,664
Guests online
3,698
Total visitors
5,362
Lotus Reef
Top