My Little Notebook of Screwups...(And Lessons I've Learned from Them)

livinlifeinBKK

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm pretty new to the hobby (been in it a little over 2 years) and I'm the type of person that needs to learn some stuff the hard way in life and that goes for reef keeping as much as anything else. I'm sure there are others like me reading this too! Worst of all, I've done some things that I was too embarrassed to admit to sometimes when things went wrong which only made things worse and harder to fix. This is why I've started keeping a notebook to not only track my parameters but also write down these lessons learned so I don't repeat them. I'm writing this primarily to share what I feel are probably common mistakes by newer hobbyists so just maybe it'll stop others from making them.

1-Always put fish in a cycled QT tank when you bring them home. There are numerous advantages to this ranging from observing behavior and detecting disease to getting them to start eating whatever it is you plan to feed long term.

2-Be very careful with fish compatibility! Sometimes it's impossible to know if fish will get along but other times it's simple. Even if your LFS just got your favorite fish in stock and you're really excited, think about if your other fish are likely to accept it. It's painful to bring home your dream fish only to have another fish in your tank totally reject it to the point it has to be returned or worse.

3-DONT JUMP TO BUY A FISH UNTIL YOU HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO CARE FOR IT AND HAVE THE ABILITY TO CARE FOR IT! For example if you only have a 10 gallon tank that's months old you shouldn't be buying a dragonet or other fish that only eats pods no matter how much you might be temped. Make sure you are willing and able to care for the fish before you buy it no matter how much you love it. Again it really hurts to have to return a fish or worse because you can't take care of it.