my new tank cycling stall?

sawyer010

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hello, everyone
i am new to saltwater tank, and i am doing cycling for my First tank, it has been 17days, i have added ammonia and dr tim's one and only when i set up my tank at frist day. the ammonia has rised up to 5ppm and i did water change, it dropped off about 2ppm, then nitrite was raising up until to 5ppm. and i have Monitored ammonia and nitrite daily, both of them never dropp off. just stay 2ppm and 5ppm.and nitrate is 40ppm as well, so i think my tank has been stalled. so i did 70% water change today, and took test. the ammonia is 1 ppm, nitrite is still 5ppm. and nitrate is 20ppm. so what should i do now?just leave it own or add more bacteria?thanks

20181009_134545.jpg

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The most important element in cycling your tank is patience. Yes it's exciting and you want to get fish in there, but getting things established properly on the front end will pay great dividends in the end.

I realize the information below is a little long, but please take the time to read through it as it does a pretty good job explaining the cycling process.

This is excerpt of the supreme guide thread which is another good read.

image via @rusticgirls